Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - Thick As A Brick (40th Anniversary Special Edition)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 111 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Flower Kings, The - Retropolis


    Year of Release: 1996
    Label: InsideOut
    Catalog Number: IOMCD 050
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 68:49:00

    Retropolis is the second disc by the Swedish band, The Flower Kings, if we don't consider Roine Stolt's work called The Flower King, which featured the complete team that afterwards formed the group.

    I bought the album after having listened to the most important albums from the band like Stardust We Are and Flower Power. So the first thought I had was that Hasse Fröberg appeared on it only as guest star, singing on two songs. The consequence is the following: although I like Roine's voice a lot (a mixture of Roger Waters, John Wetton and Peter Hammill) the final score is less successful than the works where Fröberg is a full-time member.

    However, I believe Retropolis has no weak points like, for example, Stardust We Are does, an album thatcontains some filler ("Different People" or "Kingdom Of Lies"). It's a Stolt creature, as he wrote almost all the tracks, but there's a lot of improvisation, too. The band demonstrates all their skills with many solos and instrumental parts. The title track represents what I just said. In my opinion it's the best TFK instrumental piece ever, though it is very, very long (more than eleven minutes).

    This album, of course, has all the influences of the prog giants. The long song called "There Is More To This World" has a final part where there are some choruses in the classic Yes style. According to me, this is too similar.

    I also notice Tomas Bodin plays Hammond C3 organ more than usual, just to remark the influences of the past.

    At the same time, on this disc many original pieces are present: "Silent Sorrow" has an interesting central part where Bodin makes himself conspicuous using a lot of synthesizers. "The Judas Kiss," is my favorite one, with a great jam session in the middle and a beginning that has an oriental melody.

    I suggest you buy Retropolis first so that you can see TFK's evolution over the years!


    Tracklisting:
    Rhythm Of Life (0:28) / Retropolis (11:07) / Rhythm Of The Sea (6:13) / There Is More to This World (10:07) / Romancing The City (0:53) / The Melting Pot (5:48) / Silent Sorrow (7:38) / The Judas Kiss (7:39) / Retroplis by Night (3:06) / Flora Majora (6:49) / The Road Back Home (8:57)

    Musicians:
    Roine Stolt - guitar, keyboards, vocals, voices
    Tomas Bodin - synthesizer, piano, Hammond organ, Mellotron, effects
    Michael Stolt - bass
    Jaime Salazar - percussion, drums
    Hans Fröberg - voices
    Hasse Bruniusson - percussion
    Ulf Artan Wallander - soprano sax

    Discography:
    Roine Stolt - The Flower King (1994/2001/2004)
    Back In The World Of Adventures (1995)
    Retropolis (1996)
    Stardust We Are (1997/2000)
    Scanning The Greenhouse (comp) (1998)
    Edition Limitée Quebec (1998) (only 700 copies!)
    Flower Power (1999)
    TFK fanclub disc (2000) (free CD exclusive to fanclub members only)
    Alive On Planet Earth (2000)
    Space Revolver (2000)
    Space Revolver Special Edition (2CD set) (2000)
    The Rainmaker (2001)
    The Rainmaker - Special Edition (2001)
    Unfold The Future (2002)
    Live In New York: Official Bootleg (2002)
    Fan Club CD 2002 (2002)
    Fan Club CD 2004 (2004)
    Adam & Eve (2004)
    BetchaWannaDanceStoopid (2004)
    Harvest (fan club CD) (2005)
    Paradox Hotel (2006)
    The Road Back Home (2007)
    The Sum Of No Evil (2007)
    The Sum Of No Evil (Special Edition) (2007)
    Banks Of Eden (2012)

    Meet The Flower Kings - Live Recording (DVD) (2003)
    Instant Delivery (DVD) (2006)
    Instant Delivery - Limited Edition (2CD/2DVD) (2006)

    Genre: Symphonic Prog

    Origin SE

    Added: February 23rd 2003
    Reviewer: Davide Guidone

    Artist website: www.flowerkings.se
    Hits: 600
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds