Wetton, John - Rock Of Faith

Year of Release: 2003
Label: GEP Ltd
Catalog Number: GEP 1033
Format: CD
Total Time: 46:16:00

Rock Of Faith is the latest effort by one of the greatest singers in progressive rock history, John Wetton.

When Wetton decided to start his solo career, he changed direction in the writing music, as he has always had a melodic soul. So over the last few years, Wetton has oriented his style more towards AOR than towards prog.

A lot of famous musicians appear on this disc; in fact, the line-up is formed by Clive Nolan (Pendragon, Arena) on the keyboards, John Mitchell (Arena) on electric guitars and Steve Christey (Jadis) on the drums, plus some guest appearances like Martin Orford (IQ) on flute, Hugh McDowell (ELO) on cello and Peter Gee (Pendragon) on fretless bass. This album is also important for it represents the first partnership with Geoff Downes in a decade. In this work, Downes has written two pieces with Wetton, "I've Come To Take You Home" and "I Lay Down."

On Wetton's solo discs the same personal marks can be always distinguished: a particular love for melodies, some church atmospheres, and a few instrumentals, plus the same amazing voice he has always had since the beginning. There are the usual strings arrangements, this time by Clive Nolan, and a few solos by Mitchell.

In this Rock Of Faith you can find some Asia influences over the whole release, but this is a less technical style of music. However, this is a complete rock release, if we compare it to Arkangel, where you can find some weak pop songs.

I suggest it to all Asia fans and to those music listeners who appreciate a little bit different AOR

Mondrago (2:12) / Rock Of Faith (3:57) / A New Day (5:16) / I've Come To Take You Home (4:19) / Who Will Light A Candle (3:39) / Nothing's Gonna Stand In Our Way (5:36) / Altro Mondo (3:42) / I Believe In You (5:22) / Take Me Down To The Waterline (6:08) / I Lay Down (4:04) / When You Were Young (1:34)

John Wetton - lead, harmony vocal, acoustic guitar, bass, keyboards
Clive Nolan - keyboards, monk
John Mitchell - all electric guitars
Steve Christey - all drums
Geoff Downes - virtual grand,B4 (4, 10)
Other guest appearences:

Martin Orford - flute
Peter Gee - fretless bass
Hugh McDowell - cello
Tim Garland - alto saxophone

Caught In The Crossfire (1980)
Kings Road (1972-1980) (1987)
One World (w/Phil Manzanera) (1987)
Battle Lines (akaVoice Mail in JP) (1994)
Chasing The Dragon (1994)
Akustika - Live In Amerika (1996)
Chasing The Deer (1998)
Arkangel (1998)
Monkey Business 1972-1997 (w/Richard Palmer-James) (1998)
Live In New York (1999)
Live In Tokyo (1999)
Sub Rosa - Live In Milan 1998 (1999)
Nomansland Live In Poland (1999)
Sinister (2001)
Anthology (2001)
Rock Of Faith (2003)
Agenda (Live In Poland) (2003)
Amata (2004)
Icon (w/ Geoff Downes) (2005)
Icon II - Rubicon (w/Geoff Downes) (2006)
Icon Live - Never In A Million Years (w/Geoff Downes) (2006)
Icon 3 (w/ Geoff Downes) (2009)
Raised In Captivity (2011)

Live In The Underworld (DVD) (2003)
Amorata (DVD) (2003)

Hensley - Wetton - One Way Or Another (2002)

Hensley - Wetton - More Than Conquerers (DVD)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin UK

Added: April 6th 2003
Reviewer: Davide Guidone

Artist website: www.johnwetton.co.uk
Hits: 2127
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]