Sbar Noesis, The Rob - Wagon Wheels And Atom Bombs

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Aggregate Recordings
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 43:37:00

Imagine a recording that starts with the funky beat of 40's jazz, then proceeds to be shredded to pieces by fusion guitar work that flows as well as rips. That is what you can expect with the Rob Sbar (pronounced "Star") Noesis. This is one tight, well-postured band headed by virtuoso guitarist Rob Sbar.

We've heard the fusion guitar thing many times before, all by talented demi-gods of the genre, but no one plays faster than Sbar, nor more fluid. He's all over the map in most of the early tracks, even if the tempo carried by drummer Erik Feder and bassist Matt Schaefer rarely goes into overdrive. The rhythm team just carry a relaxed, energetic, eclectic beat through which Mr. Sbar inserts his dexterous daggers. The 43 minute CD is awash in experimental and avant-garde interpretations of progressive fusion.

Notable exceptions in the music's fury occur on Track 5, "Drowning In A Vacuum," which diverges from Sbar's jazz roots and delivers a lighter, more DiMeola-esque tune. The melodic shredding continues thenceforth until "Blue Harvest," which colors a bit of funk and blues into the musical potpourri and, after 7 minutes, ends with some whimsical jazz ensemble doodling. It must be asserted that the album never really recalls the speed of the opening numbers, but that's not a bad thing.

In effect, each song has its appropriate personality and keeps the album colourful and varied. The end result is something supremely virtuoso, without being plain assaulting.

Wagon Wheels and Atom Bombs (Introduction ? excerpt) (0:18) / Lexical Gap (4:21) / I Woke Up This Morning With This Human Skin On ? And I Can't Seem To Get It off (4:13) / 16 Shades Of Gray (4:30) / Drowning In A Vacuum (Of Barbed Wire Solitude) (5:41) / Media-Induced Paranoia (5:30) / Blue Harvest (7:28) / Diet Soda, Chinese Food And A Single Yellow Daisy (10:46) / Wagon Wheels And Atom Bombs (Reprise ? excerpt) (0:39)

Rob Sbar - guitars
Erik Feder - drums, percussion, glockenspiel, xylophone
Matt Schaefer - bass

Additional Contributors and Credits:

Tony Gairo - tenor sax, flute
Duane Eubanks - trumpet
Aino Soderhielm - alto sax
Laurie Nagle - alto sax
Bill Wenglicki - clarinet, baritone sax
Mark Shewchuk - drums
Andy Pfaff - bass
Daniel Mintseris - piano
Jason Elliott - tenor sax
Rob Mislivers - alto sax

Wagon Wheels And Atom Bombs (2002)

Genre: Various Genres

Origin US

Added: May 4th 2003
Reviewer: RIPZ

Artist website:
Hits: 716
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]