Jack Yello - Thorns Of Anger

Year of Release: 2003
Label: Rogue
Catalog Number: Rogue 01
Format: CD
Total Time: 78:01:00

Jack Yello is one of those groups that have remained on their limb of the music world for a long time. So this Thorns Of Anger is their first release, but every member of the band has lots of experience.

The album is approximately eighty minutes (maybe too much) and it can fit in the category of neo-prog: texts about fantastic themes, not many long pieces, a good technique, and music influenced by the great bands of the past.

When I started listening to this record by this German group, I thought that the either singer or the band's sound would be similar to Steve Winwood's and Traffic's music; then I understood I was wrong: one more time, we are in presence of a singer, Dirk Bovenpiesen, who has taken his inspiration from Fish's "source". At the same time, the music also has many influences from the Script For A Jester's Tear-era, but you can also note a little bit of Arena.

However Thorns Of Anger is a very melodic disc, which demonstrates the musicians are very good at playing their instruments and, as soloists, they have a personal style.

We'll wait for the next album to find out whether the band will gain a little maturity that will permit to this group to become a great group.

Also released by Progrock Records

Inspiring Confidence [Part 1] (9:56) / Shadows Of A Nightingale [Part II] (7:15) / Game Show (6:28) / The Unknown Soldier (7:42) / The Old Warrior [Part V] (4:37) / The Bridge (8:59) / Before (5:59) / Igraine [Part IV] (6:43) / Take My Heart (9:27) / Emotional Suicide [Take My Heart Part II] (9:21) / Faces To Faces [Outro] (1:34)

Dirk Bovensiepen - vocals
Lutz Grosser - guitars
Uwe Ziegler - keyboards
Dirk Hülpert - bass
Uwe Poprawa - drums

Thorns Of Anger (2003)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin DE

Added: June 1st 2003
Reviewer: Davide Guidone

Artist website: www.jackyello.com
Hits: 969
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]