Rise And Shine - Flowerpowermetal

Year of Release: 1998
Label: Black Widow Records
Catalog Number: BWR023
Format: CD
Total Time: 41:17:00

Hippiemetal from the nineties, metal and doom from the eighties larded with the hardrock from the seventies. Put together all of these elements and you get Flowerpowermetal the full-CD debut by Swedish rockers Rise and Shine. Some might regard this as being "psych hard doom" where Grand Funk, Black Sabbath and Kuyss take turns against the vibrato vocals of a Janis Joplin soundalike! Whatever way you look at it, the nine original compositions each contain a fair share of guitars, which is logical once you know the band contains no fewer than four guitar players. This is the kind of music which is welcomed with open arms by visitors to Harley Davidson conventions and Grateful Dead memorials. Ah, how grand were those days ?

I'm Sinking (3:55) / Danish Denim (4:30) / Midnight (3:32) / The Oversleep (3:41) / I'm Gonna Rise And Shine (3:30) / Home (8:20) / Sacred Moments (4:22) / Formula One (4:25) / It's Finally Spring (3:54)

Dennis Palsson - bass
Josabeth Leidi - voice
Joakim Knutsson - guitar
Mattias Värmby - drums


Fredrik Gleisner - guitars
Fredrik Finnander - guitars
Fredrik Lindgren - guitars

Rise And Shine (EP) (1996)
Danish Denim (EP) (1997)
Flowerpowermetal (1998)
Roadflower (1999)
Ghosts Of The Past (2006)

Genre: Various Genres

Origin FR

Added: January 30th 2001
Reviewer: John "Bobo" Bollenberg

Artist website: www.myspace.com/flowerpowermetal
Hits: 883
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]