Paradise Lost - Believe In Nothing

Year of Release: 2001
Label: EMI
Catalog Number: 7248 5 30707 24
Format: CD
Total Time: 46:00:00

Believe In Nothing is the eighth album by Halifax wonderboys Paradise Lost. Produced by John Fryer, known from his work with Nine Inch Nails, White Zombie, Cradle of Filth and Stabbing Westward, to name just a few, the band has once again found an ideal combination of dark, gothic rock, a fair share of electronic gadgetry and above all a decent amount of superb melodies. Opener "I Am Nothing" already hits the target for the full 100%, leaning heavily towards Metallica, augmented with Sisters of Mercy and even a dash of New Model Army. The band has modeled the new album around the nucleus of the previous three albums, augmented with the wizardry of the 1999 release Host.

The way the band introduces Gregorian chant in "Fader" illustrates their daring to incorporating whatever they think will be fitting and original. Greg Mackintosh's guitar sounds as if it just left some early Cure, albums but once again it fits the arrangement rather well. The only setback, maybe, is the violins, which for my taste are mixed too much in the background. It nevertheless remains a very good alternative rock tune. "Illumination" is another adventurous tune with some wailing guitars entertwined within a solid bass riff. "Divided" is another daring experiment including a huge orchestra which is mixed in between the various segments of the song. The dramatic brass section sounds like the counterpoint for the classic violins, whilst the piano introduces the calmer section of the song. I also like the way the producer toys with the drum sound towards the end.

Dark throbbing bass introduces "Sell It To The World," resulting in a true rocking experience. Once again Cure like guitars are mixed inside a Paradise Lost original. This time it's an atmosphere which is very similar to the classic "A Forest" from their acclaimed Seventeen Seconds album. However, a decent amount of gothic roughness and power is melted all over the song before real cello and violins once again show the more intimate side of the band and the more classical approach. The band once again toys with sparse electronics during "Control." With two of the members claiming to be influenced by Adam Ant maybe that's where we have to search for the band's rhythmic approach. Even if "No Reason" is in no way a copy of "Stand And Deliver" Lee Morris knows how to hit those toms the right way. The album closes with the slower "World Pretending," which contains both great harmonies and powerful bass playing. To top it all a distorted guitar solo closes yet another Metallica deadringer. Believe In Nothing is an album which holds some great tunes not in the least because of the professional and inventive production of John Fryer. It contains solid rock songs with great hooks but still is not too complex to please a wide range of musicfans. So next time you see this brand new release shine aside Fates Warning, Queensryche and Metallica make sure it's in your very own collection!

Singles taken from this album:


1. Mouth - version (Holmes/Mackintosh) 3:47
2. Sway (Holmes/Mackintosh) 3:07
3. Gone Holmes/Mackintosh) 4:34
4. Mouth - remix (Holmes/Mackintosh) 4:20


1. Fader - single edit (Holmes/Mackintosh)
2. Leave This Alone (Holmes/Mackintosh)
3. Waiting for god (Holmes/Mackintosh)
4. Fader - album version (Holmes/Mackintosh)

I Am Nothing (4:00) / Mouth (3:42) / Fader (3:57) / Look At Me Now (3:26) / Illumination (4:26) / Something Real (3:33) / Divided (3:23) / Sell It To The World (3:08) / Never Again (4:35) / Control (3:25) / No Reason (3:10) / World Pretending (4:28)

Aaron Aedy - guitars
Greg Mackintosh - guitar, keyboards
Lee Morris - drums, backing vocals
Nick Holmes - vocals
Steve Edmondson - bass

Lost Paradise (1990)
'In Dub' (single) (1990)
Gothic (1991)
Shades Of God (1992)
As I Die (EP) (1992)
Icon (1993)
Gothic EP (1994)
Seals The Sense (EP) (1994)
Forever Failure (EP) (1995)
The Last Time (EP) (1995)
Draconian Times (1995)
True Belief 97 (EP) (1997)
Say Just Words (EP) (1997)
One Second (ep) (1997)
Singles Collection (1997)
One Second (1997)
Reflection (1998)
Permanent Solution (EP) (1999)
So Much Is Lost (EP) (1999)
Host (1999)
Fader (EP) (2001)
Mouth (EP) (2001)
Believe In Nothing (2001)
Erased (EP) (2002)
Symbol Of Life (2002)
At The BBC (2003)
Forever After (EP) (2005)
Paradise Lost (2005)
The Enemy (EP) (2007)
In Requiem (2007)
The Anatomy Of Melancholy (2007)
Faith Divides Us - Death Unites Us (2009)
Tragic Idol (2012)
Tragic Illusion 25 (2013)
The Plague Within (2015)
Medusa (2017)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin UK

Added: March 6th 2001
Reviewer: John "Bobo" Bollenberg

Artist website:
Hits: 766
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]