Cross - Gaze

Year of Release: 1996
Label: Cyclops
Catalog Number: CYCL 039
Format: CD
Total Time: 65:56:00

The fact that the bitter Skandinavian cold is good for the composing talent is once again proven with the band Cross who with Gaze deliver their fourth CD. In the keyboard section I hear a little bit of Dave Greenslade (one of my all time favourites!) whilst the darker passages in true Crimson style are alternated with the more "modern" sounds of Rush, IQ, Echolyn, Spock's Beard and Saga and a pinch of UK.

The outstanding guitar work sometimes brings the music in the direction of It Bites however Cross offers their very own style where the emphasis lies with the melody. Then again that melody is the counterpoint to the hard guitar riffs which enable fans of say Dream Theater to also like this music (although this is no progmetal at all!). At times lead singer [Hansi] Cross has a very rough voice which sort of is the equivalent of his guitar riffs such as in "Heavenly." It is in songs such as "Introverted Mirrors" where the Red-period Crimson is rather apparent: a logical melody is moved aside in favour of another rhythmic route. The same applies to "Sense Of Wonder" and like with the rest of the album I must say I would like to hear a much more 'open' sound especially what the drums are concerned. Remarkable is the rather short Steve Howe tribute "Pling." All by all a very strong release and a pleasant surprise by a band I never before had the pleasure to encounter.

Entering (2:37) / Take Off (6:00) / Heavenly (5:08) / Introverted Mirrors (7:53) / Conflagrations (7:19) / Pling (0:33) / Sense Of Wonder (7:44) / Clours (6:59) / On The Other Side (6:09) / Plingeling (2:52) / Extrovert (12:07)

Cross - lead vocals, guitars, additional keyboards
Christensen - bass, vocals, additional keyboards
Floke - keyboards
Hjorth - drums, percussion
Stenmark - drums, percussion

Uncovered Heart (1987)
2nd Movement (1990)
Changing Poison Into Medicine (1993)
Gaze (1996)
Dream Reality (1997)
Visionary Fools (1998)
Gaze (remastered) (1999)
Secrets (2000)
Playgrounds (2005)
Secrets (remastered) (2008)
The Thrill Of Nothingness (2009)
Wake Up Call (2012)
De Capo (2014)
Gaze 2015 (2015)
Visionary Fools - mmxv (2016)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin SE

Added: May 8th 2001
Reviewer: John "Bobo" Bollenberg

Artist website:
Hits: 1766
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]