Castello Di Atlante, Il - Concerto Acustico

Year of Release: 2006
Label: Electromantic Records
Catalog Number: ART 417
Format: CD
Total Time: 00:00:00

Concerto Acustico only varies from Il Castello Di Atlante's previous release in terms of the accent on violin and the fact that it seems to be a "live in the studio" recording with an audience present. The point is, the album still has a powerful, electrified sound. What the band has done has taken material from their long career and re-arranged it to include more mellow, folk-inspired passages where the violin leads, rather than follows the other instruments. It's a lively listen nonetheless and again, showcases the bands virtuoso playing.

The excellent opener to their previous album, "Non Puoi Fingere" opens the album, followed by the somber "Il Saggio." Excellent piano work embellishes this piece and weaves between the guitar and violin passages seamlessly. This is followed by the excellent "Cavalcando Tra Le Nuvole," again from their Quintessenza album. "Volta La Pagina" follows with a edgier sound, reminiscent of Quella Vecchia Locanda.

Several instrumentally driven pieces follow, with a range of moods, from mellow, folkish, to furious and erupting. This is followed by the gorgeous "Il Pozzo," and the expansive, romantic symphony "Questo Destino.

Though there is talking between tracks, the music clocks in at an hour. If you're curious about the band, this album, well recorded, might be a good place to start. If you're a fan, the revisiting of old material might also be of interest. Regardless, Il Castello di Atlanti is one of the finest of the current Italian progressive rock bands still recording. They've been around for a long time and have not compromised their sound.

The band is currently working on their 6th studio album and I can't wait until it comes out. Italian progressive rock is alive and well thanks to bands like Il Castello di Atlante.

Non Puoi Fingerie (10:27) / Il Saggio (6:56) / Cavalcando Tra Le Nuvole (6:47) / Volta Pagina (8:34) / Omer (4:40) / Semplice ...Ma Non Troppo () / Il Pozzo (7:18) / Questo Destino (11:44) / Ilmarinen Forgia Il Sampo - Presentazione (2:30)

Roberto Giordano - keyboards, acoustic guitars, vocals
Aldo Bergamini - acoustic guitars, vocals
Paolo Ferrarotti - drums, vocals
Massimo Di Lauro - violin
Franco Fava - bass, vocals

Sono Io Il Signore Delle Terre A Nord (1992)
Passo Dopo Passo (1994)
L'Ippogrifo (1994)
Come Il Seguitare Delle Stagioni (2001)
Quintessenza (2003)
Concerto Acustico (2006)
Capitolo 7 - Tra Le Antiche Mura (2009)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin IT

Added: April 21st 2008
Reviewer: Richard Zywotkiewicz

Artist website:
Hits: 897
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]