Riot - Through The Storm

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Metal Blade
Catalog Number: 14399
Format: CD
Total Time: 51:11:00

I don't know much about Riot's music though they've been around for a long time. It easily fits into the category of "unstoppable 80s hard rock." No concessions, sell out or intention of changing with the times. And that's good.

Like Axel Rudi Pell, the New York based band occasionally embellishes their songs with long instrumental passages, owing to the UFO banner of hard rock that began in the mid-seventies. This gives Riot a progressive touch, but for the most part the tunes are raw, hard and straight ahead.

Mike DiMeo's lead vocals have that coarse, bluesy timber and suits the music well. While each song is melodious, there is nothing of a commercial sound to them. "Turn The Tables" and "Lost Inside This World" start things off in an energetic manner, then the album goes into the riffs. "Let It Show" starts out as a beautiful ballad, complete with Schenkeresque lead guitar. It's a beautiful, symphonic tune and never gets too cheesy.

"To My Head" speeds things up again. "Only You Can Rock Me" is a bit too Kiss-like for my liking, but the band shines on its final tracks. "Isle Of Shadows" is an instrumental right out of Michael Schenker's books and their acoustic version of the Beatle's classic "Here Comes The Sun" shows the gentler side of the band.

If you like ballsy, straight ahead hard rock with great lead guitar, and if bands like early UFO and Axel Rudi Pell appeal to you, this Riot release will definitely appeal to you.

Turn The Tables (5:21) / Lost Inside This World (4:43) / Chains Revolving (4:42) / Through The Storm (6:13) / Let It Show (4:37) / Burn The Sun (4:26) / To My Head (5:58) / Essential Enemies (3:48) / Only You Can Rock Me (3:56) / Isle Of Shadows (4:07) / Here Comes The Sun (3:20)

Mike DiMeo - lead vocals
Mark Reale - electric guitars, acoustic guitars, keyboards
Mike Flyntz - electric guitars
Pete Perez - bass guitar
Bobby Rondinelli - drums

Additional musicians:

Tony Harnell - backing vocals
Yoko Kayumi - violins, varied speed violin, keyboards, recorder
Josh Pincus - keyboards (9)

Rock City (1977)
Narita (1979)
Fire Down Under (1981)
Restless Breed (1982)
Born In America (1984)
Thundersteel (1988)
The Priviledge Of Power (1990)
Riot Live (1993)
Night Breaker (1994)
The Brethren Of The Long House (1996)
Inishmore (1998)
Shine On (1999)
Live In Japan (1999)
Sons Of Society (1999)
Through The Storm (2002)

Genre: Melodic Metal

Origin US

Added: August 25th 2002
Reviewer: RIPZ

Artist website:
Hits: 575
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]