Evergrey - In Search Of Truth

Year of Release: 2001
Label: InsideOut Music America
Catalog Number: IOMACD 2025
Format: CD
Total Time: 46:22:00

Evergrey (© Evergrey)Evergrey is a group from Gothenberg, Sweden. It seems that there were many groups on those shores or thereabouts just waiting to be discovered. Labels like Inside Out Music America have unearthed a cache of great prog-metal bands. Evergrey is referred to as the king of morose metal on their page on the Inside Out Music America website.

In Search Of Truth is a conceptual album dealing with alien abductions and the feelings and emotions of a man that doesn't know what's happening to him. The music fits the storyline very well.

Tom Englund's vocal style works its way around the edge of the music and the story, then he reaches back and pushes the disturbing blade of truth deeper into your psyche with the absolute power and forcefulness of his vocal style. This dark and brooding prog-rock has a razor sharp metal edge that tears and cuts away at the frail emotions of the characters inner being and gets to the core of his fears. The music is always brilliant, befitting the unfolding tale.

Henrik Danhage plays a storm trooper guitar while the rhythm section of Michael Hakansson (bass) and Patrick Carlsson (drums) lays down a fortress of raging beauty for Sven Karlsson to add his beautiful and tragic keyboards to, giving it all the finishing touches that are needed to complete the musical play that brings the situations and the main character to life. With titles like "State Of Paralysis" and "Encounter" how could it not conjure the images of a man in complete confusion and terror? The key to this kind of music being successful is not only above average musicianship, it takes a story that will capture your imagination long enough to let you become part of the drama. This CD holds a convincing rock and roll story, and the ones telling it hold the instruments in their hands that make it all become transformed before your eyes and mind. Feel like being abducted by a bunch of Swedes that play some outrageous metal? Now is your chance in your search of truth...

The Masterplan (4:46) / Rulers Of The Mind (5:57) / Watching The Skies (6:16) / State Of Paralysis (2:13) / The Encounter (4:38) / Mark Of The Triangle (6:22) / Dark Waters (6:02) / Different Worlds (5:29) / Misled (5:59)

Tom Englund - vocals, guitar
Henrik Danhage - guitars
Michael Hakansson - bass
Patrick Carlsson -drums
Sven Karlsson - keyboards

The Dark Discovery (1998)
Solitude*Dominance*Tragedy (1999)
In Search Of Truth (2001)
Recreation Day (2003)
Inner Circle (2004)
The Dark Discovery - Special Edition (2004)
Solitude*Dominance*Tragedy - Special Edition (2004)
A Night To Remember - Live 2004 (2005)
Monday Morning Apocalypse (2006)
Torn (2008)
Glorious Collision (2011)
Hymns For The Broken (2014)
The Storm Within (2016)

A Night To Remember - Live 2004 (DVD) (2005)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin SE

Added: November 25th 2001
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck

Artist website: www.evergrey.net
Hits: 1121
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]