Symphony X - Live On The Edge Of Forever

Year of Release: 2001
Label: InsideOut Music America
Catalog Number: SPV 089-41722 IOMCD091
Format: CD
Total Time: 104:51:00

The beginning of this two CD set of live performances by prog-rock masters Symphony X begins with a strident crowd chanting before the beginning of "Prelude" and "Evolution (The Grand Design)." It sounds so frighteningly evil and unsettling at first, and then you realize that it is nothing more than life's stage curtain opening one of its acts while being prodded and pushed along by one progressive rock's best group of entertainers. How do you figure out who are the actors and who are the real life players though?

Live On The Edge Of Forever is an indicative title for this live recording. The science fiction, mystical, dark and foreboding storyline is the impulsion for the wall sound fashioned by Symphony X to pulverize your mortal being. The strong influence of classical music weaves its way throughout a majority of the tracks leaving no doubt that the ancient genre is as strong an influence as it ever has been. This group really hits pay dirt on this enthralling live presentation of some of their most exhilarating musical stories. The subject of each song is immediately transformed into a real breathing and emotional entity via the music.

Progressive rock continues to forge new inroads and gain strength in realm of rock music. With releases like this the appeal of attending concerts to see the groups that you have heard on studio releases become much more of an attraction rather than just a passing thought. You can make your dreams into a reality with fantastic groups like Symphony X. Or get the next best thing to being there, a two-disc live set that brings it on home. Let Russell Allen (lead vocals), Michael Romeo (guitars), Michael Pinnella (keyboards), Jason Rullo (drums), and Michael Lepond (bass) give you a rockin' version of the symphony of life that exists eternally on the edge of forever.

When released by InsideOut Music America - now defunct - the cat no was IOMACD 2030

Disc One: Prelude (1:40) / Evolution (The Grand Design) (5:18) / Fallen/Transcendence (6:30) / Communion And The Oracle (7:39) / The Bird-Serpent War (3:39) / On The Breath Of Poseidon (5:09) / Egypt (7:05) / The Death Of Balance/Candlelight Fantasia (5:52) / The Eyes Of Medusa (4:32)

Disc Two: Smoke And Mirrors (6:36) / Church Of The Machine (7:21) / Through The Looking Glass (14:09) / Of Sins And Shadows (7:22) / Sea Of Lies (4:05) / The Divine Wings Of Tragedy (19:54)

Russell Allen - vocals
Michael Romeo - guitars
Michael Pinnella - keyboards
Jason Rullo - drums

Symphony X (1994)
The Damnation Game (1995)
The Divine Wings Of Tragedy (1997)
Twilight In Olympus (1998)
V - The New Mythology Suite (2000)
Live On The Edge Of Forever (2001)
The Odyssey (2002)
Paradise Lost (2007)
Iconoclast (2011)
Underworld (2015)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin US

Added: December 21st 2001
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck

Artist website:
Hits: 638
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]