Atomic Rooster - The Best Of

Year of Release: 2003
Label: Silverline
Catalog Number: 288097
Format: DVD-A
Total Time: 39:53:00

Vincent Crane?s Atomic Rooster was a groundbreaking progressive rock group that spawned super groups like ELP. As fate would have it, ELP percussionist Carl Palmer paid his dues in Atomic Rooster. If you think about what I just said ? it is a mouthful when looking back on the history of prog-rock and what developed after bands like Atomic Rooster dissolved. They were indeed a key component in the birth and growth of the genre.

The Best Of features 14 tracks that prove my point with characteristic precision, even more so now because it can be enjoyed in this marvelous DVD-A format in colossal surround sound. I must say this music does sound more magnificent now than it ever has before. This comes as no surprise to me as I journey through the catalog of Silverline (A division of Sanctuary Records Group); I am continually impressed with their output and quality of the product they are making available to a diverse base of music lovers worldwide.

The only issue I had with this DVD is that it was so good that I wanted to hear more! Yes, I did listen more than once before sitting down to write about it, which is commonplace for music that I enjoy so much. I think Atomic Rooster was vastly underrated and I cannot overstate enough how important and vital this music is. If you are a prog-head this is necessity for your collection.

Bandstead / Friday 13th / Tomorrow Night / The Devil's Answer / Death Walks Behind You / Black Snake / Decision/Indecision / Head In The Sky / The Rock / Can't Find A Reason / Save Me / Ear In The Snow / Take One Toke / Moods

DVD Special Features: 24bit/96kHz DVD-Audio and 24bit/48kHz Dolby Digital 5.1 options / Stunning 5.1 surround sound / Liner Notes / Artist Photos / Plays on ALL DVD players

Chris Farlowe - vocals
Steve Bolton - guitar
John Cann - guitar, vocals
Vincent Crane - keyboards
Peter French - vocals
Nick Graham - bass
Paul Hammond - drums
Preston Heyman - drums
John Mandela - guitars
Carl Palmer - drums
Rick Parnell - percussion, drums

Atomic Rooster (1970)
Death Walks Behind You (1971)
In Hearing Of Atomic Rooster (1971)
Made In England (1972)
Nice 'N' Greasy (US title: Atomic Rooster IV) (1973)
Assortment (1974)
Home To Roost (1977)
Atomic Rooster (1980)
Headline News (1983)
The Best Of Atomic Rooster (1989)
Devil's Answer (1989)
The Best And The Rest Of... (1989)
The Devil Hits Back (1990)
The Best Of Vols 1 & 2 (1993)
BBC Live In Concert (1993)
The Best Of Atomic Rooster (1994)
The Best of Atomic Rooster (1996)
In Satan's Name - The Definitive Collection (1997)
Resurrection (2001)
The Best Of (2003)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin UK

Added: November 16th 2003
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 876
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]