Vanden Plas - Colour Temple/AcCult

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Inside Out Music America
Catalog Number: IOMA 4007-2
Format: CD
Total Time: 95:10:00

Vanden Plas is a melodic metal-progressive-rock group from Germany featuring a strong front man by name of Andy Kunz. He sounds like a foreign Bon Jovi, although his accent clearly separates him from the New Jersey rocker. Gunter Werno (keyboards, background vocals), Torsten Reichert (bass), and Andreas Lill (drums), are the other members of this powerfully gifted and technically exact unit. Colour Temple/AcCult is a rather remarkable two CD set. There are several reasons why; you get two versions of some songs, one CD is electric and the other unplugged, and you will also hear previously unreleased material.

I listened to the bonus disc first. The acoustic material is absolutely phenomenal. There are lots of lush and beautiful guitars accompanied by exquisite vocals. Everything about the way the band jells in each song gives their sound an entirely different landscape and mood in comparison to the rocking metal you are accustomed to hearing from them. And the electric versions of the songs from the original album are highly forceful and energetic; I really enjoyed each track immensely as well. This is a beyond your wildest dreams Vanden Plas recording. You get the very best of both worlds to compare and contrasts. The best part about it for me was that I happened to love every second of it on each disc. I can appreciate the beauty and gentleness of the music, and by the same token can connect with the energy and emotion of the hard driving rockers. It's all here for you, both sides of progressive rock. Musical nirvana awaits your beckoned call. Get this special edition release, its one that you will be very happy you decided to get; you have my word of honor as a prog freak.

Colour Temple (disc one): Father (5:40) / Push (4:18) / When The Wind Blows (7:12) / My Crying (5:27) / Soul Survives (9:07) / Anytime (7:06) / Judas (6:03) / Back To Me (8:14) / How Many Tears (5:32)

AaCult (disc two): Meaekavos (0:34) / My Crying (4:54) / Theme From 'Pseudo Silk Kimono' (0:41) / Kayliegh (4:56) / Father (5:03) / Georgia On My Mind (5:04) / How Many Tears (7:09) / Des Hauts, Des Bas (4:18) / Spanish Rain (7:15) / Days Of Thunder (4:39) / Bonus track: Raining In My Heart (4:38)

Gunter Werno - keyboards, background vocals
Andy Kuntz - vocals, background vocals
Torsten Reichert - bass
Andreas Lill - drums

Colour Temple (1994)
Accult (1996)
The God Thing (1997)
Far Off Grace (1999)
Spirit Of Live (2000)
Beyond Daylight (2002)
Colour Temple/AcCult (special edition) (2002)
Christ 0 (2006)
The Seraphic Clockwork (2010)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin DE

Added: June 26th 2002
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 733
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]