Ozric Tentacles - Swirly Termination

Year of Release: 2000
Label: Mad Fish
Catalog Number: 128212
Format: CD
Total Time: 45:01:00

There is a shroud of mystery surrounding Ozric Tentacles' Swirly Termination album. From the research I conducted I found that the group considered this as an incomplete recording and an obligatory release to satisfy their commitment to the label. Another oddity was that it was listed in the massive AMG database without a review. The group does not list the CD on their site either. Its too bad they aren't recognizing this fine achievement of instrumental progressive space rock. There are also no credits listed on the CD inner sleeve. I found a listing of past and present group members on the group's site, so I am assuming it was the present members that performed on this year 2000 release. Well, I hope this is the lineup that played on this album. I am sure someone will let me know if its incorrect. I had no way of finding out through the usual methods.

Regardless of the inconsistencies and incompleteness of this release in other areas besides the music itself, I found it to be a fantastic listening experience that left me wanting to hear more of the same. Ed Wynne plays a key role with his authoritarian guitar playing pushing Seaweed (keyboards), John Egan (flute), Zee Geelani (bass), and RAD (drums) into instrumental warp drive. Some Middle Eastern influences are detected from time to time along with whirling dervish keyboard playing and fat power chords that make this group a difficult one to classify. They border on techno at times then jump right back to the prog sound very quickly. That's what keeps everything interesting while listening to Ozric Tentacles. I look forward to hearing more.

[Reissued by Snapper via the Snapper Classics line (SDPCD139) and in 2004 as a 2CD set, paired with Curious Corn (SMDCD494) on Snapper's Recall imprint;]

Steep (3:12) / Space Out (8:28) / Pyoing (4:29) / Far Dreaming (5:24) / Waldorfdub (6:13) / Kick 98 (6:03) / Yoy Mandala (11:52)

Ed Wynne - guitar, keyboards
John Egan Flute - vocals
Zia Geelani - bass
Seaweed - keyboards
Rad - drums, percussion

Previous Members :
Roly Wynne - bass
Nick Van Gelder -drums, percussion
Gavin Griffiths - guitar
Joie Hinton - keyboards, samplers
Tom Brookes - keyboards
Paul Hankin - percussion
Merv Pepler - drums, percussion

Erpsongs (1985/1994)
Tantric Obstacles (1985/1994)
Live Ethereal Cereal (1986/1994)
There Is Nothing (1986/1994)
Sliding Gliding Worlds (1988/1994)
The Bits Between The Bits (1989/1994)
Pungent Effulgent (1989/1990*)
Erpland (1990)
Strangeitude (1991/1992)*
Sploosh/Live Throbbe (12-inch single) (1991)
Afterswish (comp.) (1991)
Live Underslunky (1992)
Jurassic Shift (1993/1998)*
Vitamin Enhanced Ozric Tentacles (6 CDs) (1994)
Arborescence (3-sided LP w/extra track) (1994)
Become The Other (1995)
Curious Corn (1997)
Spice Doubt - Streaming A Gig In The Ether (ltd ed webcast live CD) (1998/2003)
Floating Seeds (remix album w/var. artists)(1999)
Waterfall Cities (1999)
The Hidden Step (2000)
Swirly Termination (2000)**
Pyramidion (ep) (2001)
Oakum (Ozric fan club only) (2001)
Live At The Pongmasters Ball (CD/DVD) (2002)
Spirals In Hyperspace (2004)
Eternal Wheel, The Best of Ozric (2004)
The Floor's Too Far Away (2006)
The Yum Yum Tree (2009)
Nodens Ictus - Spacelines (2000)

*CD has extra track; **not an official or recognized OT release

Genre: Psychedelic-Space Rock

Origin UK

Added: April 7th 2002
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website: www.ozrics.com
Hits: 677
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]