Gamma Ray - No World Order

Year of Release: 2001
Label: Noise Records
Catalog Number: N03542ux
Format: CD
Total Time: 51:56:00

It's been two years since we've heard a new Gamma Ray disc (discounting their momentous best-of disc Blast From The Past). During this time, all four members have been off doing their own things from producing to side projects (Iron Savior, Freedom Call) to helping out other projects (Avantasia). Dirk (b), Henjo (g), Daniel (d), and Kai (v/g) have been very busy boys.

Without a doubt, the songs, 11 of them, are a mixture of their previous releases. As clichéd as that sounds, it's decidedly true. No World Order! starts off majestically with the pompous, impressive opener, "Induction" that leads into "Dethrone Tyranny" that recalls images of Land Of The Free. From there, well, take your pick. The more I hear it the more I like it (which, for a well-known and well-established band is all important). A couple of fillers are present ("Damn The Machine" & "Follow Me") but in general, the songs on offer present tons of "solid" metal action. Take "New World Order" (amazing twin heavy guitars and Kai sounding his finest on vocals) or the mass choral efforts of "The Heart Of The Unicorn." The final track on the album is the wonderful ballad "Lake Of Tears" which is a pleasant and different way to finish off the album and credit to the boys for doing this.

The constant within this CD is the pumping of guitars by Henjo and Kai. Song after song there appears very little let up and it's very powerful tuned all the while having an unclean, rough feel to it reminiscent of traditional 80s heavy metal (Accept). Turning our attention to the solos - well, let's face it, Kai is the master. Of course, Kai also takes care of the vocals once again and, even though he is getting older, he still manages to strike a powerful chord. The great thing about Kai's vocals is that they don't really sound like any other band (even the musical copycats!).

Gamma Ray has always been the leader and not the follower. On this album they just do their own thing without worrying what others are thinking. In their own little corner, they play and others follow if they wish. This is not a new style, they haven't changed direction, they still write about sci-fi and fantasy (although not as much as Iron Savior), and they seem to be having fun. In fact, it's easy to picture the band up on stage belting out these songs to masses of adoring metal fans.

I'm sure that history will look upon this Gamma Ray release favourably. Emotionally, I'd give the release 11 out of 12, but there's not too much new and nothing too challenging thus the very respectable score of 9.

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site.]

Induction (1:01) / Dethrone Tyranny (4:14) / The Heart of the Unicorn (4:46) / Heaven or Hell (4:16) New World Order (5:00) / Damn The Machine (5:04) / Solid (4:23) / Fire Below (5:34) / Follow Me (4:43) / Eagle (6:05) / Lake of Tears (6:47)

The Japanese edition as also a bonus track Trouble

Kai Hansen - guitars, lead vocals
Henjo Richter - guitars, keyboards
Dirk Schlächter - bass guitar
Dan Zimmermann - drums

Heading For Tomorrow (1989)
Sigh No More (1991)
Insanity And Genius (1993)
Land Of The Free (1995)
Alive '95 (1996)
Somewhere Out In Space (1997)
The Karaoke Album (1997)
Powerplant (1999)
Blast From The Past (2000)
No World Order (2001)
Skeletons In The Closet (2003/2004)
Majestic (2005)
Land Of The Free II (2007)
Hell Yeah! Live In Montreal (2008)

Heading For The East (VHS/DVD) (1991/1998)
Lust For Live (VHS/DVD) (1994)
Hell Yeah!!! The Awesome Foursome (DVD) (2008)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin DE

Added: December 19th 2004
Reviewer: Gary Carson
Artist website:
Hits: 930
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]