Balance Of Power - Ten More Tales ... Of Grand Illusion

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Nightmare Records
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 52:54:00

Ah, the new release from Balance Of Power was sent to me by Lance King some days ago and it was with much anticipation and excitement I put the CD in the player for the first time. Ten More Tales... is Balance of Power's third release and the second to feature Lance King (King's Machine) on vocals.

Balance Of Power offer catchy melodic heavy mixed with elements of progressive metal. Compared to the brilliant Book Of Secrets album, the new album is slightly heavier and more powerful. The music is more guitar dominated, which perhaps is a natural development due to Ivan Gunn's departure, although there are still plenty of room left for some excellent keys. The CD is filled to the core with catchy, powerful, crunchy staccato riffing, super melody-lines and memorable choruses. Songs like "Prisoner of Pride" and "Sins Of The World" are prime examples of how this music should sound. There is no doubt the decision to bring Lance King into the band was a rightful one as he, with his wide range, although mostly singing in the high register, really shines on this CD. Worth noticing is that Doogie White (Rainbow, Chain, Midninght Blue) is listed as backing singer. The production is absolutely brilliant and the CD practically demands to be played LOUD. All instruments are present and they all sound great, the sound is huge and bombastic, crisp and clear.

If I was to put my finger on anything at all, it would have to be the ballad "The Darker Side" which comes off as rather dull and uninspiring and without doubt the weakest song on the CD. It would also please me a lot if the instrumental was a full song with vocals, instead of an intro, but you can't have it all I guess. Besides these small complaints, this CD smokes. There are plenty of killers to be found here and the overall the quality is very impressive. Balance of Power has that little extra which give them class and separates them from mediocre bands. This will be a contestant for one of the best CDs of the year 2000, too.

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Tale 1. Daybreaker / Tale 2. Prisoner of Pride / Tale 3. Savage Tears / Tale 4. Under the Spell / Tale 5. Blind Man / Tale 6. About to Burn / Tale 7. Under Innocence Wing / Tale 8. Sins of the World / Tale 9. The Darker Side / Tale 10. Ten More Tales of Grand Illusion

Lance King - lead vocals
Pete Southern - guitars, vocals
Bill Yates - guitars
Tony Ritchie - bass, vocals
Lionel Hicks - drums

When The World Falls Down (1997)
Book Of Secrets (1998)
Ten More Tales ... Of Grand Illusion (1999)
Perfect Balance (2001)
Heathen Machine (2003)
Heathenology (boxed set) (2005)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin US

Added: November 26th 2004
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 850
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]