Bodin, Tomas - Sonic Boulevard

Year of Release: 2003
Label: InsideOut Music
Catalog Number: IOMCD 138/SPV 085-65972
Format: CD
Total Time: 64:20:00

Sonic Boulevard is Tomas Bodin's follow up to his successful second solo album Pinup Guru. The trademark progressive-rock keyboards are evident once again but this time out jazz fusion makes a much stronger presence. At times, I felt I could have been listening to Return to Forever or a similar group, the music is that polished and perfected.

I found this CD to be very tasteful and eclectic while maintaining a strong production value throughout. His band mates from The Flower Kings, Jonas Reingold (bass) Zoltan Csörsz (drums), help his cause as well. They manage to keep the TFK references to a minimum and allow Bodin to leave his own imprint on the sound, thereby making it a true solo album, not something for fans to compare to his full time gig. The more I hear the band members of TFK play on their own and together, the more I realize how each one of them is a star in their own right. This CD is more proof of that fact.

The Prayer (2:29) / The Hero From Cloud City (8:41) / Back To The African Garden (6:36) / Picture (4:19) / Walkabout (6:03) / The Horses From Zaad (5:27) / A Beautiful Mind (5:57) / The Happy Frog (6:35) / Morning Will Come (8:45) / The Night Will Fall (9:28)

Tomas Bodin - keyboards
Jonas Reingold - bass
Zoltan Csörsz - drums
Anders Jansson - lead vocals
Jocke JJ Marsh - guitars
Hasse Bruniusson - percussion
Ulf Wallander - sax
Jonas Knutsson - sax
Roine Stolt - guitar
N'Nogo Bjurhall - African scat

An Ordinary Night In My Ordinary Life (2000)
Pinup Guru (2002)
Sonic Boulevard (2003)
I Am (2005)
Cinematograaf (2008)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin SE

Added: September 8th 2003
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 794
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]