Elf Project - Mirage

Year of Release: 2009
Label: 10T Records
Catalog Number: 10T10034
Format: CD
Total Time: 42:25:00

This has everything that defines Progressive Rock. It has a wall of sound that doesn't let up. The guitars slice and dice without causing ringing ears. When necessary, these electric razors do solo to produce a closer shave. The bass, however, consistently bubbles as if intentions were to simmer a pot of stew, and when it comes to keyboards; they paint each song in an opulent coat of gold leaf. As for vocalizations, messages are conveyed through harmony without a lot of lead singing. While this may seem weird at first, it allows its listeners to be fully mesmerized by the instrumentations. Likewise, there are lyrics so feel free to sing along with the music if libretto is required.

One of the exceptions to the rule is "Norwegian Wood," which will be familiar to many, because it's a cover from The Beatles' Rubber Soul.

Another point of interest and what's also in concert with the genre is that Elf Project is fronted by a multi-instrumentalist named Carl Schultz. He's responsible for the majority of the music. To further assist in the mission, a handful of friends contribute flutes, Mellotrons, tambourines, back up vocals, and a variety of guitars and percussion.

Since everything more or less blurs, it would be extraneous to drill into other tracks. Instead, what may shed light is a series of comparisons. Schultz often touches upon Circa, Rush, Mastermind, Farpoint, Longshot, and Yes.

Like I said before, this is the exegesis of Progressive Rock. For that reason, it would be an error to file it anywhere else. As evidenced by the members of its clique, the main attribute that's difficult to delimit is vintage. A superior production quality will assure you that it's either re-mastered or new, but the music itself won't shed a clue. The release date is the only detail that determinately elucidates Mirage's age.

Lessons (4:35) / The Road Of Change (4:05) / Serene (5:03) / Jackhammer (2:39) / The Go Between (4:38) / Witchcraft (2:22) / Norwegian Wood (2:04) / Carolan's Welcome (3:24) / Shine A Light (3:22) / Whisper The Memory Of Old (10:08)

Dave Wayne - drums
Israel Stark - guitars
Carl Schultz - bass, keys, vocals, production

Mirage (2009)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin US

Added: August 2nd 2009
Reviewer: Joshua "Prawg Dawg" Turner
Artist website: www.myspace.com/elfproject1
Hits: 2904
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]