Capaldi, Jim - Poor Boy Blue

Year of Release: 2004
Label: SPV
Catalog Number: 085-70412
Format: CD
Total Time: 43:22:00

The SPV label has certainly gained a head of steam this year by signing on some legendary acts with musical oomph. Jim Capaldi is the latest addition to their ever-growing stable of artists.

Poor Boy Blue is the latest offering from the legendary Traffic drummer, singer/songwriter. Long time collaborator Steve Winwood is a guest on the recording session along with the extraordinary guitarists Gary Moore and Mick Dolan.

This is an exceptional album. The title track starts things off with a bang featuring ballsy blues rockin' guitar and a powerful vocal signature by Capaldi. The next track "Edge Of Love" is the other side of the tracks with a softer more polished pop sound. The following track "Into The Void" has a harder edge and a classic rock feel to it. Within the first three tracks, you get the talent on this album featured in different lights. From that point forward, you get more of the same.

Every aspect of Capaldi's range gets exposure; he does not leave a stone unturned while giving his audience a consistently superb performance from start to finish. You end up with 12 tracks of potent blues-rock and pop few can muster in these days of over exploited belly buttons and voluptuous blonde bombshells with no talent. Capaldi is the real deal, a time tested true talent that continues to make great music without fail.

Poor Boy Blue (4:40) / Edge Of Love (3:52) / Into The Void (5:00) / Breathless (3:25) / Getting Stronger (4:24) / Secrets In The Dark (4:17) / Long Legs (3:35) / Scream It To The Dark (2:34) / California Sunset (4:03) / Bright Fighter (3:33) / I've Been Changing (1:46) / Now Is The Time (4:13)

Jim Capaldi - drums, vocals, background vocals
Peter Bonas - guitar
Phil Capaldi - background vocals
Brent Forbes - bass
Bryson Graham - drums
Steve Kinch - bass
Stevie Lange - background vocals
Sammy Mitchell - slide guitar
Trevor Morais - drums
Chris Parren - synthesizer, piano
Peter Vale - guitar, background vocals
Steve Winwood - synthesizer, guitar

Oh How We Danced (1972)
Whale Meat Again (1974)
Short Cut Draw Blood (1975)
Play It By Ear (1977)
Daughter Of The Night (1978)
The Contender (1978)
Electric Nights (1979)
The Sweet Smell Of ... Success (1980)
Let The Thunder Cry (1981)
Fierce Heart (1983)
One Man Mission (1984)
Some Came Running (1988)
Prince Of Darkness (1995)
Living On The Outside (2001/2003)
Poor Boy Blue (2004)

Genre: Rock

Origin UK

Added: November 16th 2004
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 642
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]