Clear Blue Sky - Clear Blue Sky

Year of Release: 2003
Label: Akarma
Catalog Number: AK-260
Format: LP
Total Time: 39:37:00

Clear Blue Sky was a power progressive-rock trio from Acton, West London. Considered a semi-pro band when Patrick Campbell-Lyons of Nirvana discovered them, they proved at their tender age(s) of 18 years they could play like seasoned pros on their self-titled Clear Blue Sky album.

With the hundreds reissued vinyl LP's I have covered since 2000, this is one of the few groups that are still active with their own website.

I really like the energy and straight ahead rock sound they had. For a trio they were very powerful. After I heard the first song, an instrumental that runs nine and half minutes, I knew that this band had what it took to please these fussy ears. I noticed at the end of the last track on side two there was a very subtle flute playing before the song closed out, so they were heading into a much more complex territory before they ever got out of the studio.

Just to clarify something to the entire group progressive rock enthusiasts reading this review, today this band would probably fall into the hard rock or metal-prog category, in 1970 they were a prog-rock trio. Another interesting note is that the cover of their first album featured one of the very first cover designs by artist Roger Dean. This a gatefold LP that opens to a picture of what looks like a Mech Warrior (Microsoft game) with a character driving the machine that you would see on the old cartoon Space Ghost (ever watch Cartoon Network?).

They are keeping the music alive today so check out their website, their entire catalog is available for purchase right off the site.

Side One: Journey To The Inside Of The Sun: (A) Sweet Leaf (9.30) - (B) The Rocket Ride (5.57) - (C) I'm Comin' Home (3.05)

Side Two: You Mystify (7.45) / Tool Of My Trade (4.50) / My Heaven (5.00) / Birdcatcher (4.10)

John Simms - guitar, lead vocals
Ken White - drums
Mark Sheather - bass

Clear Blue Sky (1971)
Heads Together/Round One (comp.; 1 track)
The Vertigo Trip (comp.; 1 track)
Destiny (1990)
Vertigo Classics & Rarities, Vol.1 (1990) (comp.; 1 track)
Cosmic Crusader (1991)
Still Dizzy After All These Years (comp.; 1 track)
Out Of The Blue/Live & Unreleased (2001)
Mirror Of The Stars (2001)
Time Machine (comp.) (2005)
Gateway To The Seventh Dimension (2007)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin UK

Added: July 13th 2003
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 766
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]