Consortium Project, Ian Parry's - Ian Parry's Consortium Project

Year of Release: 1999
Label: InsideOut
Catalog Number: IOMCD 044
Format: CD
Total Time: 47:52:00

Ian Parry is back! No, not with Elegy but with a brand new project featuring such talents as Patrick Rondat (g - solo and Jean M. Jarre), Thom Youngblood (g - Kamelot), Stephan Lill (g - Vanden Plas), Tamaas Szekeres (g - Tamas, Omega), Martin Helmantel (b - Elegy), Arjen Lucassen (k - Ayreon, Vengeance), Tommy Newton (g - Victory) etc. As this line-up is pretty impressive, you would also expect the music to be of same standard, but time has proved that is not always the case.

Well, I won"t keep you waiting for an answer. The CD is simply awesome! Ian and the guys offer 11 tracks of slightly progressive melodic metal of highest quality. The music is very guitar dominated, although there is plenty of room for some great keyboard work from the key-men. The drum and bass work is also simply stunning. This sounds at times like Elegy without Henk Van Der Laars's distinctive guitar work. At least the heaviness is practically the same. The vocals of Ian Parry sound better than ever, and the melody- lines and choruses are very impressive. This is catchy as hell!

Of course, the production is faultless and when the players and the songs are this good, it's only left for me to stand up and applaud. There are plenty of highlights to be found and fans of melodic metal and progressive metal will absolutely love this one. A must!

Released in North America by the now defunct InsideOut Music America (IOMA 2006-2)

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

House Of Cards (4:17) / Banquet Of Thieves (5:35) / Evilworld (3:44) / Garden Of Eden (4:20) / The Entity (Instrumental) (2:43) / Change Breeds Contempt (4:16) / A Miracle Is All We Need (4:48) / The Snake (3:21) / Criminals & Kings (4:12) / Chain Of Fear (5:23) / Pandora's Box (3:56)

Ian Parry - vocals
Patrick Rondat - guitars
Thom Youngblood - guitar
Stephan Lill - guitars
Tamas Szekeres - guitars
Dirk Bruinenberg - drums
Martin Helmantel - bass
Arjen Lucassen - guitars
Tommy Newton - bass
Barend Curbois - six string bass
Jan Vayne - piano

Ian Parry's Consortium Project (1999)
Consortium Project II - Continuum In Extremeis (2001)
Consortium Project III - Terra Incognita (The Undiscovered World) (2003)
Consortium Project IV - Children Of Tomorrow (2007)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin VA

Added: December 11th 2004
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 737
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]