Cressida - Cressida

Year of Release: 2001
Label: Akarma
Catalog Number: AK 182
Format: LP
Total Time: 45:17:00

In 1970 Cressida originally released their first self-titled LP on the Vertigo label. There was to be one more album thereafter and then they dissolved. The lineup was: Angus Cullen (vocals), whose vocals bore a striking resemblance to Justin Heyward of the Moody Blues, John Heyworth (guitar), Peter Jennings (keyboards, harpsichord), Kevin McCarthy (bass), and Iain Clark (drums).

Cressida was a progressive rock unit that was heavily influenced by classical music. They kept the guitar playing of Heyworth very restrained, which is shame. When he was allowed to cut loose it sounded great. This music is for those that enjoy the softer blends of prog-rock. Folks who have enjoyed Genesis and Yes over the years would really appreciate this album, I certainly did.

"Depression" is the hardest rocking song on the entire album, that one song showed a side of the group that would have brought them to fruition and success a lot quicker. They chose to put out another album which I do not know anything about at it this point, so I really don't know how they developed with their second visit to the studio. Obviously it wasn't good enough for them to continue.

There are some instances when I was actually bored fully knowing that they could sound a lot more upbeat. I must say that they were talented and played some very beautiful music regardless. This is a great collector's piece and another LP to add to your collection with reference to the history of British prog-rock.

Side One: To Play Your Little Game (3:15) / Winter Is Coming Again (4:42) / Time For Bed (2:18) / Cressida (3:57) / Home And Where I Long To Be (4:04) / Depression (5:02)

Side Two: One Of A Group (3:35) / Lights In My Mind (2:45) / The Only Earthman In Town (3:32) / Spring '69 (2:14) / Down Down (4:15) / Tomorrow Is A Whole New Day (5:19)

Angus Cullen - vocals
John Heyworth -guitar
Peter Jennings -keyboards, harpsichord
Kevin McCarthy - bass
Iain Clark - drums<

Cressida (1970/2001)
Asylum (1971)

Genre: Symphonic Prog

Origin UK

Added: February 8th 2002
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck

Artist website:
Hits: 776
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]