Hourglass - The Journey Into

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Fast Forward
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 75:14:00

While this debut album of Utah-based Hourglass may possess a couple of minor flaws, I have to admit that it really impressed me from the first listening, thanks to the cohesiveness that these musicians display within their six songs. In fact The Journey Into looks already like a professional release, with a good sound quality (albeit not top-notch), brilliant technique and capable songwriting. And while someone could argue that the vocals need to be a little more polished in order to rank the album high in the year's end prog charts, I would like to point out that Chad Neth, the new singer of the band, had only a couple of months to learn the songs, so I truly believe his full potential will be reached on future CDs. But for now let's return to The Journey Into, which begins with "Pawn," a "classic" progressive metal tune that will certainly satisfy a lot of fanatics. OK, uniqueness may be a little far away, but the song is impressive, with some interesting rhythmic changes and beautiful solos. The same can be said for "Vantage Point" and "Plains Of Remembrance," which are a little more complex and lengthy than the opener, mixing gentler moments to more heavier riffs. Right after those two comes the mellow acoustic, "The Circle Breaks," which suits just fine as a little change of pace at midpoint. Instead the following "Not My Time" is maybe the most intense song of the album, with a fascinating heavy riff that you will immediately remember. Unfortunately the song loses some points in the last fraction, but it's still outstanding. Nonetheless it's at the end of the album that Hourglass unleash their most ambitious track, 26 minutes of music that somewhat recalls early Dream Theater, and especially the lush atmospheres of "Learning To Live." And even if the gods of prog metal are still too hard to tackle for Hourglass, rest assured that they are on the right track to raise some eyebrows.

[This is actually their second album -ed.]

Pawn (8:23) / Vantage Point (12:06) / Plains Of Remembrance: I. Onto The Plains - II. Change Beginning - III. For You (15:40) / The Circle Breaks (6:15) / Not My Time (5:49) / The Journey Into: I. The Barrier Falls - II. Recklessness - III. The Road Down - IV. Where I Stand In The Light - V. The Raging Storm (instrumental) - VI. Deliverance (26:53)

Jonathan Berrett - electric bass
John Dunston - drums and percussion
Chad Neth - the voice
Jerry Stenquist - keys
Brick Williams ? guitars

This Lonely Time and Place (2000)
The Journey Into (2002)
Subsconcious (2004)
Oblivious To The Obvious (2009)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin US

Added: September 1st 2002
Reviewer: Igor Italiani

Artist website: www.hourglassband.com
Hits: 552
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]