Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account
  • Downloads


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - Thick As A Brick (40th Anniversary Special Edition)
    ·CD/DVD: Flower Kings, The - Banks Of Eden
    ·CD/DVD: Nielsen, Jake - Perspective
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 76 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    RPWL - Trying To Kiss The Sun


    Year of Release: 2002
    Label: SPV
    Catalog Number: SPV 65172 CD
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 58:11:00

    Acknowledging your influences is both intelligent and commendable; it's a sign of maturity and growth, personally and as a band. RPWL is aware of the comparisons to Pink Floyd, and they embrace that entirely. Lead singer Yogi Lang sounds like David Gilmour and Roger Waters combined with a distinctive foreign accent, and that is an advantage as far as I can see. Their sound is for the most part a mellowed out prog-rock with introspective lyrical content featuring intricate and continually developing melodic transitions in every song. Music like this has a tendency to grow on you even if you aren't a prog-rock enthusiast. It is music that could without difficulty cross over to top-forty radio while maintaining a strong position with the more advanced and selective progressive rock audience.

    You are not going to hear layered soundscapes with thundering guitars, this is all has nice flow to it, dare I say ... a pop around the fringes sound. Although this group is surely talented enough to go any direction that they chose, I do believe that they will continue to evolve and become more interesting to listen to as time passes. There are some fiery guitar passages in "Sugar For The Ape" and "Tell Me Why" that are impressive, and reminiscent of some of the runs you would hear on a Marillion album.

    All and all this is a very good album with many redeeming qualities. I would keep on eye on this group, their limitations are few, and they should have more solid work to offer their listeners such as this once they get back in the studio for their next project. I look forward to hearing more soon.

    Released in Germany by Tempus Fugit (TF VÖ 07) and in North America by (the now defunct) InsideOut Music America (IOMA 2038-2)


    Tracklisting:
    Trying To Kiss The Sun (3:45) / Waiting For A Smile (7:04) / I Don't Know (What's It's Like) (4:32) / Sugar For The Ape (5:03) / Side By Side (8:35) / You (6:49) / Tell Me Why (5:08) / Believe Me (5:14) / Sunday Morning (4:29) / Home Again (8:52)

    Musicians:
    Yogi Lang - vocals, keyboards
    Karlheinz Wallner - guitars
    Phil Paul Rissettio - drums
    Andreas Wernthaler - keyboards
    Stephan Ebner - bass

    Discography:
    God Has Failed (2000)
    Trying To Kiss The Sun (2002)
    Stock (2003)
    World Through My Eyes (2005)
    Live - Start The Fire (2005)
    The RPWL Experience (2008)
    Gentle Art Of Music (2010)

    The RPWL Live Experience (DVD) (2009)

    Genre: Progressive Rock

    Origin DE

    Added: July 16th 2002
    Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
    Score:
    Artist website: www.rpwl.net
    Hits: 331
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2013 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds