Kaipa - Notes From The Past

Year of Release: 2002
Label: InsideOut
Catalog Number: IOMCD 097
Format: CD
Total Time: 79:07:00

Roine Stolt has made his way to success with his group The Flower Kings over the past few years and folks like me never had the pleasure of listening to Roine play in his pre-Flower Kings days. In the 70's Kaipa released several albums bringing attention to the young guitarist from Sweden. With the release of their sixth album since 1975, Notes From The Past reunites Roine Stolt and Hans Lundin (keyboards). It looks as though they have not missed a step since they parted ways over twenty years ago. This music is yet another testament to the flexibility and talent of Stolt as a lead guitar player. Side projects such as this are nothing new for Stolt; he is also the lead guitar man for the super group Transatlantic. This outstanding album also features Patrik Lundström (of Ritual) on lead vocals, Morgan Agren (Zappa, Mats & Morgan) on the drum kit, and Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings) on bass.

The CD showcases a wonderful cross section of genres intermingled amongst progressive rock, jazz, and jazz-rock fusion. The vocals are equal to the task as Lundstrom, Lundin, and an angelic voiced woman named Aleena share the duties. Great music that leaves you wanting for more with each listen is the most memorable. I found it all to be infectious and powerful just like The Flower Kings' music. Make sure you listen to this more than once before formulating any opinion, there is a lot to take in and process. This CD is highly recommended for anyone that appreciates progressive rock. Old and new fans alike will find this to be an exceptionally pleasing note from the past. Once again Inside Out Music comes out with a quality release right on the cutting edge of prog-rock. This one is a real keeper; make sure you do not pass it up.

Notes From The Past - Part 1 (3:09) / Night-Bike-Ride (On Lilac Street) (3:28) / Mirrors Of Yesterday (6:17) / Leaving The Horizon (14:10) / In The Space Of A Twinkle (3:27) / Folke:s Final Decision (4:03) / The Name Belongs To You (13:46) / Second Journey Inside The Green Glass (5:55) / A Road In My Mind (7:17) / Morganism (10:33) / Notes From The Past - Part II (6:58)

Hans Lundin - Hammond, synthesizers, mellotron, piano, vocals
Roine Stolt - electric and acoustic guitars
Morgan Agren - drums
Patrik Lundström - vocals
Jonas Reingold - bass
Aleena Lundin and Tove Thörn Lundin - additional vocals

Kaipa (1975)
Inget Nytt Under Solen (1978)
Solo (1978)
Händer (1980)
Nattdjustid (1982)
Notes From The Past (2002)
Keyholder (2003)
Mindrevolution (2005)
The Decca Years 1975-1978 (2005)
Angling Feelings (2007)
In The Wake Of Evolution (2010)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin SE

Added: July 27th 2003
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website: www.kaipa.info
Hits: 573
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]