Last Tribe - Witch Dance

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Frontiers
Catalog Number: FR CD 116
Format: CD
Total Time: 57:14:00

Their debut, entitled The Ritual, aroused a lot of unexpected interest last year, so that's why Magnus Karlsson, the leader of Last Tribe, has recently welcomed with open arms Jaime Salazar (as soon as the renowned drummer left The Flower Kings) and Dick Lowgren, to meet the raised expectations his young combo would soon face. Unfortunately in this move, made to improve the band from a quality standpoint, it was the original rhythmic section that found itself hastily on the street, kindly dismissed to give space to the more experienced musicians. But considering what Witch Dance offers to the audience, the decision of the Swedish guitarist/keyboardist seems righteous in the end. In fact, the neoclassic metal of the band, influenced also by a lot of prog elements, is now delivered without missing a beat, and it shows a freshness that's otherwise missing from a lot of records of the same genre. One of the best traits of the record is the excellent production, managed by Anders "Theo" Theander, but the band always retains the leading role: solid, attractive and with a Magnus that never squanders the opportunity to let shine the skills he possesses both rhythmically and soloing. However this doesn't mean that Magnus is one of those guitar heroes that quickly becomes tedious showing his stuff, as the best aspects of songs like "Messenger" or the title-track are melodies and choruses, clearly inspired by the ones of Stratovarius/Elegy (of the first albums). A very capable artist is also singer Rickard Bengtsson, so, if you just can't wait for the come back of Kotipelto & Co. any longer, you already know where to look to.

The Gathering (intro) (1:47) / Witch Dance (5:03) / Messenger (5:08) / Bring Out The Brave (6:09) / Wash Your Sins Away (5:17) / Behind Your Eyes (6:21) / Wake Up The World (6:22) / Man Of Peace (5:35) / The Eternal Curse (4:28) / Agadir (5:07) / Dreamer (6:02)

Magnus Karlsson - guitars
Jaime Salazar - drums
Dick Lowgren bass
Rickard Bengtsson - vocals

The Ritual (2001)
Witch Dance (2002)
The Uncrowned (2003)

Genre: Melodic Metal

Origin SE

Added: April 7th 2002
Reviewer: Igor Italiani

Artist website:
Hits: 777
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]