Last Tribe - Witch Dance

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Frontiers
Catalog Number: FR CD 116
Format: CD
Total Time: 57:14:00

A while back I reviewed Last Tribe's debut album which was an impressive slice of proggy melodic metal. To my delight the band was picked up by Frontiers [and] has now released their new album Witch Dance to a worldwide audience. There has been some drastic changes since the debut album was released; seeing key members Magnus Karlsson (g) and Rickard Bengtsson (v) parting ways with [the] original bassist and drummer. The newly recruited members are Jamie Salazar (d - ex-The Flower Kings) and Dick Löwgren (b) who worked together with Bengtsson on the absolutely stunning Armageddon album Embrace The Mystery. Also worth mentioning is that A.C.T.s lead singer Herman Saming is singing backing vocals on two of the 11 songs.

I was a bit anxious to see what impact the expiration of band members had on the band, but as far as the new material goes Last Tribe stand forth with one of the best melodic metal albums this year. Their music is extremely catchy with tons of powerful riffs, excellent keyboards, addicting melody-lines and choruses, and wonderful mid-ranged vocals. Each song is spiced up by progressive elements and occasional acoustic interludes which for me really dot the i. Put aside the tight and rock solid rhythm section and each member shine on their respective instruments but there is no doubt that guitarist Magnus Karlsson is the star of the show, delivering some blistering guitar work.

The band seem to have worked even more on the melody-lines this time and the result is absolutely stunning. The songs are unbelievably strong and even throughout the whole album. Every song is a winner in an orgy of top notch song writing and melodic bliss where 6 to 7 songs are flat out killers. The album is completed by a grandiose, crystalline production by Anders Theandert and Magnus Karlsson.

I wish with all my heart that this band will get the attention and sales they deserve. While the debut saw a promising band in constant evolution, the new album sees the band ready to claim the throne. This is melodic metal par excellence and as close to perfection as it gets. A must!

Similar To: Impellitteri, Balance of Power

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

The Gathering (intro) (1:47) / Witch Dance (5:03) / Messenger (5:08) / Bring Out The Brave (6:09) / Wash Your Sins Away (5:17) / Behind Your Eyes (6:21) / Wake Up The World (6:22) / Man Of Peace (5:35) / The Eternal Curse (4:28) / Agadir (5:07) / Dreamer (6:02)

Magnus Karlsson - guitars
Jaime Salazar - drums
Dick Lowgren bass
Rickard Bengtsson - vocals

The Ritual (2001)
Witch Dance (2002)
The Uncrowned (2003)

Genre: Melodic Metal

Origin SE

Added: December 30th 2004
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 644
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]