Lion's Share - Entrance

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Massacre
Catalog Number: MAS CD 0280/4624-4
Format: CD
Total Time: 46:12:00

The first formation of the Swedish Melodic Metalers Lion's Share occurred in 1987 but the band didn't manage to release their debut album till 1994. Now with four releases under their belt, Lion's Share have developed their own sound within the melodic metal genre.

Lars Chriss (g) and Pontus Egberg (b) have been credited for writing all the songs and the rhythms are provided by Johan Koleberg (d). Musically speaking the band has moved slightly sideways from their last release Fall From Grace, with a faster tempo on some songs. Also you'll find here and there a tempo and rhythm movement but nothing too progressive. There are still plenty of ballads and straight melodic numbers to keep the surprises to a minimum and the biggest change has been in the form of frontman Andy Engberg making way for the new shouter Tony Niva. Tony has a strong clean voice and seems to have a greater range, particularly when it comes to the louder higher notes but doesn't fall short in providing deeper heavier vocals in the slower numbers where it is called for. Malmsteen's Mats Olausson handled the keys for recording purposes.

The CD cover displays a mean looking painted skull, which would have looked more appropriate on the latest brutal-extreme-killer-death album, but maybe I just don't get it?

Just as Fall From Grace, the fine production is handled by Lars Chriss himself and if you liked Lion's Share in the past, it is safe to say that you'll continue to do so with Entrance.

Also released by Playground (LCM 4001) in 2000

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Entrance (0:34) / Shotgun Messiah (4:19) / Waiting (4:12) / Through The Clouds (4:03) / Lost (3:23) / Mystery (5:14) / Believe (6:00) / War Machine (5:04) / On And On (4:12) / Losing My Head (4:36) / Free You Mind (4:35)

Kay Backlund - keyboards
Lars Chriss - guitars
Pontus Egberg - bass
Tony Niva - vocals
Johan Koleberg - drums

Lion's Share (1995/1997)
Two (1996/1997)
Perspective (2000) (re-issue of first 2 albums, plus bonus trks)
Entrance (2001)
Emotional Coma (2007)
Dark Hours (2009)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin SE

Added: December 30th 2004
Reviewer: Peter Fundeis
Artist website:
Hits: 564
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]