Mister Kite - All In Time

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Lion Music
Catalog Number: LMC 2201 2
Format: CD
Total Time: 53:10:00

They have supported Bruce Dickinson, Helloween and Aces High, they come from Sweden and have just released their first full length album: Mister Kite, a five piece progressive metal band formed in 1999. The line up shows a variety of talents: vocalist Alf Wemmenling has sung everything from Church duets with his father to heavy metal stuff and has an open mind about music. Mats Bergentz (ex-Silver Mountain) on drums is one of the founding members of Mister Kite and is influenced by Frank Zappa, Ian Paice (Deep Purple) and Phil Lynott (Thin Lizzy). Bass player Anton Johansson started out playing the piano, then changed to guitar and finally ended up with the bass guitar. Guitarist Magnus Kristensson (ex-S.P.O.C.K.) started out playing drums, but quickly changed to guitars and the root of his playing style is blues, which is heard in the songs of Mister Kite. Last but not least, keyboard player Tomas Djurfeldt also plays the guitar, whilst his main instrument is the bass guitar! One interesting fact: Tomas and Alf once performed in a play directed by Anton.

After the first quick spin of All In Time, I thought it was another average metal album, but after listing to it more, I found it is definitely not average, but a first class metal album with a very modern sound. The opening and title track "All In Time" captured me with its full sound and great vocals, as well as the pounding rhythm and an excellent guitar solo. Most of the songs have heavy guitar riffs and a good bass sound, but there is also room for keyboards and on "Seventeen Years" the brilliant guitar solo is played by Mattias IA Eklundh (Freak Kitchen). The vocals of Alf Wemmenling are powerful, but clean, and he does not have any accent that would distract from his singing. Mister Kite has included a small concept piece in the album, called "The Diary Of A Stranger," and on "Part I - Stranger" and "Part II - God Knows I Know" a female voice is brought in, in the person of Sara Erlandsson, and this makes these songs stand out as very beautiful, with a well written melody that gives the song variety, some ballad parts taking turns with metal parts. Definitely two of the best songs on the album!

After having listened to All In Time for a whole week I can say it is a fantastic album, well produced, as it has a very good sound, and nice artwork. I did miss the keyboard solos a bit, only "God Knows I Know" has a great keyboard solo in it. But, at least the album is laced with some solid guitar solos and excellent vocals that at times remind me of James LaBrie (Dream Theater). The song "God Knows I Know' gave me goosebumps and is my highlight of the album. But the album has strong compositions, never gets boring and is heavy, but not over the top, so it is a pleasure to listen to this album. All I can say more is: play this one loud!!

Similar bands: Vanden Plas, Pain of Salvation, Dream Theater

[This review originally appeared May 2003 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

All In Time (4:12) / I Want More (3:39) / Here We Are (4:39) / Seventeen Years (3:21) / The Diary Of A Stranger: Part I - Stranger (2:52) / Part II - God Knows I Know (6:11) / Part III - Another Me (3:48) / Rain (4:08) / It's Too Late (4:12) / Inside (3:48) / Soulsaving Sister (3:51) / The End Is Near (3:55) / The Diary Of A Stranger: Part IV - Reflections (4:33)

Alf Wemmenling - vocals
Mats Bergentz - drums
Anton Johansson - bass
Magnus Kristensson - guitars
Tomas Djurfeldt - keyboards, rhythm guitar

All In Time (2002)
Box Of Fear / The Hunger (2004)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin SE

Added: January 1st 2005
Reviewer: Marcel Haster
Artist website: www.misterkite.com
Hits: 554
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]