Pineapple Thief, The - Abducting The Unicorn

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Cyclops
Catalog Number: CYCL 079
Format: CD
Total Time: 68:00:00

For those of you who know what's happening on the current "progressive" market, then a band like Vulgar Unicorn is a must. Sadly, up until now the band has only released two albums (Under The Umbrella and Sleep With Fishes both on Cyclops records) on which their music can stand the test of time as being a perfect mix between Porcupine Tree and Radiohead. The third album keeps on being postponed which can lead to incurable side effects! The band actually recorded some material destined for the third album, yet Cyclops found those songs too "dance oriented" which means those recordings will probably see the light of day soon under the banner of Divadroid (listen to some of the sound files on

Now out of the blue comes Pineapple Thief, brainchild of Bruce Soord, guitarist with Vulgar Unicorn. On Abducting The Unicorn you can expect the same kind of music you will find with "big brother" Vulgar Unicorn, complemented with a healthy dose of Smashing Pumpkins! The powerful drum sound of Nick Lang is necessary in order to break through the "wall of sound" guitars (sorry neighbours!). The floating psychedelic is apparent during "What Ever You Do, Do Nothing." This influence is even more present in the acid-drenched "Drain" which sounds as if the guitars are trying to attack you from all corners of the room. In "Everyone Must Perish" you'll find another of those typical sixties elements by means of Indian singing. Get the incense out of the cupboard, dear, I'll be right with you! The acoustic simplicity can be found all over the intro to "Judge The Girl," whilst a little piano and snareless drums make this song a soothing whole, which contains the best of Porcupine Tree (and of course Pink Floyd). Silence before the storm because towards the end of this song it all gets more and more aggressive.

If this album is an example of what is to be expected in the new century then things look very interesting indeed. Damn they do !

Private Paradise / Drain / What Ever You Do - Do Nothing / No One Leaves This Earth / Punish Yourself / Everyone Must Perish / Judge The Girl / Parted Forever

Bruce Soord - guitars, keyboards, samples, vocals, angry girlfriend
Nick Lang - all the rest (keyboards, drums, programming)
Mark Harris - bass

Abducting The Unicorn (1999)
137 (2002)
Variations On A Dream (2003)
Variations On A Dream - Ltd. Edition (2003)
4 Stories Down (ep) (2005)
10 Stories Down (2005)

Live 2003 (2004) (DVD+CD)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin UK

Added: January 1st 2000
Reviewer: John "Bobo" Bollenberg

Artist website:
Hits: 918
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]