Sanfilippo, Bruno - The New Kingdom

Year of Release: 1998
Label: ad21 Music
Catalog Number: #
Format: CD
Total Time: 47:43:00

Bobo reviewed three of Bruno Sanfilippo's albums in one review, each is in the listing separately -ed.

Spread over three years ('91 - '95 and '97), the Argentinean multi-instrumentalist Bruno Sanfilippo released three albums. These have now been released on CD through the ad21 label, a transfer that has spectacularly given a big advantage what the beauty and fragility of the music is concerned.

I think it's too easy to call Bruno's music "new age" because his music is too varied, too well considered, too beautiful. Listen to the track "Seven Lakes" on the album Sons Of The light and you'll know what I mean. Especially beautiful is "White Wind," with the acoustic guitar of Jorge Alvarado against a wall of strings.

On his second album The New Kingdom, Sanfilippo follows a "dreamy" direction. Listen to "Argentum" as one of the prime examples and with a strong Vangelis feel all around. By adding violin and flute, a song like "The Sacred Gift" even shows off some Celtic influences.

On his third album Solemnis, Sanfilippo no longer uses guest musicians in order to deliver a full solo composition, which can easily compete with the best film soundtracks. The very rich title song sounds as Bruno's own "Bolero"!

On all of these albums Bruno Sanfilippo proves to be an outstanding talent with a strong love for classical themes. The sober yet well considered use of certain sounds delivers a unique 'soundscape' with which he might compete against the very best of the genre.

In all: three outstanding releases and a man to watch out for!

The New Kingdom (4:11) / Dialogus (3:27) / Alumin? (4:22) / The Fourth Wish (6:38) / Argentum (6:23) / The Sacred Gift (6:22) / April Air (3:45) / What Clouds See (7:01) / Living Garden (6:54)

Bruno Sanfilippo - keyboards, synths, programming, and samplers
Vanesa Tomas - vocals
Roberto Gandini - violins
Manuel Miranda - flute, German flute, piccolo

Sons Of The Light (1991/1998)
The New Kingdom (1995/1998)
Solemnis (1997/1998)
Suite Patagonia (2000)
Visualia (2003) Indalo (2004) Ad Libitum (2004) Anthology (2005)

Genre: Electronic

Origin AR

Added: January 12th 2000
Reviewer: John "Bobo" Bollenberg

Artist website:
Hits: 766
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]