Sun Caged - Sun Caged

Year of Release: 2003
Label: Lion Music
Catalog Number: LMC076
Format: CD
Total Time: 58:57:00

Sun Caged is another prog-metal force on the mushrooming Finnish music label Lion Music. The label has been gradually adding more legitimate acts to its roster to compete with U.S. based labels.

Guitar whiz Marcel Coenen is a vital component to the Sun Caged sound, which snaps, bites, and has you turning it up louder with each successive track. It came as no surprise to me how good this album was after hearing Coenen's astonishing solo flight Guitar Talk.

I knew that I was in for a treat of six-string shrewdness, but what I did not know were his partners in crime are equally adept at their positions in the band. Andre Vuurboom is a spot on prog-metal vocalist ? he has it down pat. His vocal inflection is in perfect sync with the bands sweeping attacks coming from the left and right. They are a double-edged sword that never gets dull, that is a fact. Joost van den Broek (Keyboards), Dennis Leeflang (Drums) and Rob van der Loo (Bass), hold down their end exceptionally well. They clearly define the meaning of teamwork and jell together as a band very nicely.

You need to do yourself a favor and check these guys out, it is exhilarating prog-rock!

Sedation (7:57) / Sun Caged (6:23) / Home (6:37) / Soil (6:52) / Hollow (5:12) / Closing In (5:58) / The Eighth Day (5:41) / Secrets Of Flight (9:07) / Unchanging (5:09)

Marcel Coenen - guitars
Dennis Leeflang - drums
Rob Van Der Loo - bass
André Vuurboom - vocals
Joost Van Den Broek - keyboards

Scar Winter (demo ep) (2000)
Dominion (demo ep) (2001)
Promo 2002 (2002)
Sun Caged (2003)
Promo '05 (2005)
Artemisia (2007)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin NL

Added: November 30th 2003
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 404
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]