Sun Caged - Sun Caged

Year of Release: 2003
Label: Lion Music
Catalog Number: LMC076
Format: CD
Total Time: 58:57:00

Sun Caged are a band based in The Netherlands and now they are publishing the first album under the Lion Music label.

They demonstrate how it is possible to play emotional music in this genre, like prog metal. Their secret is they don't forget the technique, but mix it with high melodic moments.

Maybe the album sometimes shows the usual cliches you can find in all the bands of this type, so it's hard to find the more original parts. In fact, you can hear some influence of the most famous bands like Dream Theater, Pain Of Salvation, or Ayreon (Joost Van den Broek usually plays with Arjen Lucassen). And Lucassen is the one responsible of the mixing of the record. So with the production work by Joost, all instruments are played very well on this first release by the Dutch band.

It's a pity that this album doesn't have a little bit more originality because with this characteristic, it could be a stunning debut. Instead it's only a good release.

Sedation (7:57) / Sun Caged (6:23) / Home (6:37) / Soil (6:52) / Hollow (5:12) / Closing In (5:58) / The Eighth Day (5:41) / Secrets Of Flight (9:07) / Unchanging (5:09)

Marcel Coenen - guitars
Dennis Leeflang - drums
Rob Van Der Loo - bass
André Vuurboom - vocals
Joost Van Den Broek - keyboards

Scar Winter (demo ep) (2000)
Dominion (demo ep) (2001)
Promo 2002 (2002)
Sun Caged (2003)
Promo '05 (2005)
Artemisia (2007)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin NL

Added: November 30th 2003
Reviewer: Davide Guidone
Artist website:
Hits: 426
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]