Thornwood - Just A Little Sly

Year of Release: 2004
Label: WMG Recods
Catalog Number: 634479057557
Format: CD
Total Time: 20:56:00

Thornwood hails from Rochester, New York, but don't let the name of the city throw you off; this band has a major sound on their new EP Just A Little Sly.

Guitar player Marcus Robinson spearheads this very talented assembly with chops to die for, while the funky and smooth grooves of the brass help the music to reach levels of maturity that is reserved for experts in their craft. This band has it all going for them. With a rock-solid rhythm and soul that prevails throughout the recording, even legends like Isaac Hayes would crack a smile. The vocal department is in fine shape as well, Gregory G-Rob Robinson has an excellent command of his talents - watch out Luther Vandross.

This five song EP kicks off with a tasty instrumental titled "Swingin Fo Da Fence," a real funky jazz workout that borders on fusion. Then there is the Sly Stone classic "Family Affair," modernized for city living in 2004. It seems so fresh and applicable today. You would swear it was just yesterday that the words and music came together for this session. For those of you to young to remember, "Family Affair" was recorded nearly 30 years ago. Speaking of today, "Babies Making Babies" is a sad but true reality in this world, the words hit home and the music is outstanding. Tony Newton cuts loose on the track ? think of players like Stanley Clark or Marcus Miller who step forward and play the performance of a lifetime on a regular basis. Newton really kicks out the jams.

Five songs were not enough for me I had to listen again and again to get my funk fix. I really enjoyed this music and hope to hear more from this band very soon, hopefully a full length album next time.

Swingin Fo Da Fence (6:27) / If You Want Me To Stay (4:56) / Our Time Together (5:17) / Family Affair / Babies Making Babies (4:56)

Herb Smith - trumpet, flugel horn
Marcus Robinson - guitars
Tony Newton - bass
Greg G - Rob Robinson - vocals
Kevin Brooks - drums
Josh Solarsky - keyboards
Gustavp Lizarraga - saxophones
Charlie Shew - percussion
Ryan Yanel - trombone

Just A Little Sly (2004)

Genre: Other

Origin US

Added: September 19th 2004
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 1011
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]