Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - A Passion Play - An Extended Performance
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 56 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Thunderstone - Thunderstone


    Year of Release: 2002
    Label: Nuclear Blast
    Catalog Number: NB-1002-2
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 49:26:00

    Here's another Finnish band to add to the pile that is melodic power metal. Thunderstone, a cross between a rockier Stratovarius and rougher Sonata Arctica plus a pinch of almost every other well-known melodic power metal band, have recently released their debut self-titled album.

    With an unforgettable cover (yes, it is great and it's by Thomas Ewerhard - Threshold) we have a band that employs a balance of well-worn power metal techniques with fast paced metal, ballads, epic tracks and an all-around nice feel to the album. It really could be the bubblegum conveyor belt that is Top 40 music except it's metal. And it's good, too. When it comes down to it, the songs are fairly basic, employing the song-writing skills of Sonata Arctica with the happy power metal feel of Stratovarius. With the vocal melodies of Pasi Rantanen, you can hear a touch of Timo Kotipelto (Stratovarius) in songs like "World's Cry" and "Will To Power" and a dash of Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica) in "Life Father, Like Son" which has a very "Wolf & Raven" type vibe. Whilst he doesn't always have the widest range, he can reach high at times but his singing is quite raspy yet melodic and somewhat powerful in a youthful kind of way. I'm looking forward to seeing how he develops from here.

    Every song on Thunderstone is a gem and like every other melodic power metal review - there's nothing that you wouldn't have heard before. It just depends on how you view this music. I really like this even though I hear this music so often it's not funny - and I think that says something. Some of the guitar work is really fulfilling although fundamentally basic and reminds me somewhat of chunky guitars on Superior's debut album Behind. The epic "Will TPower" shows maturity beyond their years and is really a highlight of the album - its tempo whilst building is tremendous - but highlights are everywhere.

    So, a terrific debut from a band I hope we hear a lot more of. For you originality freaks - stay away. For those who love this stuff - then you'll love this, too.

    Similar To: Stratovarius, Sonata Arctica

    Released in North America by Nuclear Blast USA

    [This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]


    Tracklisting:
    Let The Demons Free (3:59) / Virus (4:49) / World's Cry (4:20) / Me, My Enemy (3:41) / Will To Power (8:33) / Weak (3:10) / Eyes Of A Stranger (5:23) / Like Father, Like Son (5:35) / Voice In A Dream (4:39) / Spread My Wings (5:17)

    Musicians:
    Pasi Rantanen - vocals
    Nino Laurenne - guitar
    Titus Hjelm - bass
    Mirka Rantanen - drums
    Kari Tornack - keyboards

    Guests:

    Timo Tolkki - guitar

    Discography:
    Thunderstone (2002)
    The Burning (2004)
    Tools Of Destruction (2005)
    Evolution 4.0 (2007)
    Dirt Metal (2009)

    Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

    Origin FI

    Added: March 27th 2005
    Reviewer: Gary Carson
    Score:
    Artist website: www.thunderstone.org
    Hits: 241
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds