Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - A Passion Play - An Extended Performance
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 89 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Wetton, John - Rock Of Faith


    Year of Release: 2003
    Label: Giant Electric Pea
    Catalog Number: GEP 1033
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 47:09:00

    Whilst on holiday I saw a newspaper with a photograph of Alex, wife of George Best. She had just left home and was heading for her parents as Best had once again taken to the bottle. Having a beautiful, much younger wife apparently isn't enough to win the battle against king alcohol. It was almost in the same flash that I saw an image of John Wetton before my eyes. First the good looking man he was, for sure a rarity in the domain of progressive rock! Next, an image of a swollen Wetton, only the shadow of what he once was. Message in a bottle. Indeed. So when John's latest solo effort was released, I wasn't sure whether at all from a musical perspective he could still be his "old" self, whether that skill, too, wouldn't be on the decline. It is with great pleasure that I can say that part of his life has been untouched. But for how long, I hear you ask?

    In my humble opinion, John Wetton has one of the most wonderful voices in rock. Together with Paul Rogers, Wetton is one of my all time favourites in the male vocal department. Many classic rock tunes carry his singing, and looking at his impressive career and the number of top rock bands he's been involved with, this guy should at least be a millionaire a couple of times over. As we all know, this is not the case, and if we are to believe certain sources, John's life today is more a case of struggling to survive. Surviving in these difficult climates, especially where music is concerned, can only be done by delivering top notch material. Helped out by Asia buddy Geoff Downes, Jadis drummer Steve Christey and the Arena tandem of John Mitchell and Clive Nolan, he does exactly that. IQ's Martin Orford guests on flute, ELO's Hugh McDowell helps out on cello, Pendragon's Pete Gee delivers some neat fretless bass, whilst Mike Stobbie once again creates some outstanding arrangements. All friends that give John a helping hand. The result is yet another collection of near perfect rock songs leaning towards AOR with a dash of progressive rock. As always, the collection also contains purely autobiographical lyrics, containing as Wetton depicts himself: love, uncertainty, desperation, lust, morality, anger, hope, death and acceptance.

    There's no point in describing track by track as a John Wetton album hardly changes that much, yet I can underline the ethnic rhythms in "Rock Of Faith," the use of the "original" Asia-piano in "I've Come To Take You Home," the inclusion of two instrumentals, the almost Supertramp-like feel of "I Believe In You," the nice harmonies and string sections in "I Lay Down," and the a capella version of "I Believe In You," which has been re-titled "When You Were Young." A special mention should certainly go towards the wonderful song "Who Will Light A Candle," sporting the fabulous contribution from the Orkesta Isola Di Cani. Conceived together with notorious producer Richard Palmer-James in Vienna it's probably down to Mike Stobbie's fantastic arrangement that the word "immortal" is written all over this song.

    In 2003, Wetton has entered an aura of peace, of positive confidence. He has received that aura of positive feeling thanks to some exceptional people around him. Let's hope he'll be able to catch at the straw which is called Rock Of Faith, as by now we all have plenty of faith in the musician as well as the person John Wetton. Grab'em with both hands, John, we're 100% behind you!


    Tracklisting:
    Mondrago (2:12) / Rock Of Faith (3:57) / A New Day (5:16) / I've Come To Take You Home (4:19) / Who Will Light A Candle (3:39) / Nothing's Gonna Stand In Our Way (5:36) / Altro Mondo (3:42) / I Believe In You (5:22) / Take Me Down To The Waterline (6:08) / I Lay Down (4:04) / When You Were Young (1:34)

    Musicians:
    John Wetton - lead, harmony vocal, acoustic guitar, bass, keyboards
    Clive Nolan - keyboards, monk
    John Mitchell - all electric guitars
    Steve Christey - all drums
    Geoff Downes - virtual grand,B4 (4, 10)
    Other guest appearences:

    Martin Orford - flute
    Peter Gee - fretless bass
    Hugh McDowell - cello
    Tim Garland - alto saxophone

    Discography:
    Caught In The Crossfire (1980)
    Kings Road (1972-1980) (1987)
    One World (w/Phil Manzanera) (1987)
    Battle Lines (akaVoice Mail in JP) (1994)
    Chasing The Dragon (1994)
    Akustika - Live In Amerika (1996)
    Chasing The Deer (1998)
    Arkangel (1998)
    Monkey Business 1972-1997 (w/Richard Palmer-James) (1998)
    Live In New York (1999)
    Live In Tokyo (1999)
    Sub Rosa - Live In Milan 1998 (1999)
    Nomansland Live In Poland (1999)
    Sinister (2001)
    Anthology (2001)
    Rock Of Faith (2003)
    Agenda (Live In Poland) (2003)
    Amata (2004)
    Icon (w/ Geoff Downes) (2005)
    Icon II - Rubicon (w/Geoff Downes) (2006)
    Icon Live - Never In A Million Years (w/Geoff Downes) (2006)
    Icon 3 (w/ Geoff Downes) (2009)
    Raised In Captivity (2011)

    Live In The Underworld (DVD) (2003)
    Amorata (DVD) (2003)

    Hensley - Wetton - One Way Or Another (2002)

    Hensley - Wetton - More Than Conquerers (DVD)

    Genre: Progressive Rock

    Origin UK

    Added: October 19th 2003
    Reviewer: John "Bobo" Bollenberg

    Artist website: www.johnwetton.co.uk
    Hits: 363
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds