Wolverine - The Window Purpose

Year of Release: 2001
Label: DVS Records
Catalog Number: DVS 005
Format: CD
Total Time: 57:04:00

I would really like to know what's the secret that lies behind the copious and convincing Scandinavian music wonders. Clean (and frozen!) air, immaculate landscapes or more easily the strong presence of the five-line stave starting from the early days of school? Well, while I wait to find the right answers, let's focus briefly on another new and gifted band coming from this place: Wolverine. These 5 young guys already released a mini-CD two years ago, but only now (in my opinion), with the huge distribution of the new The Window Purpose, we can really start to appreciate their immense class. And even if the roots of the ensemble are linked to the intimate/dramatic progressive metal that characterizes bands like Pain Of Salvation and Fates Warning, we must say that Wolverine are able to create a path of their own, a path that develops into something new and exciting. An early display of what I say is given by the semi-dark attack of "His Cold Touch," a versatile tune that steers our attention thanks to a great overall performance of the group, who recalls also a little of Evergrey with the growling of some passages positioned here and there. But we are only at the beginning, and after a little acoustic interlude we are welcomed by the melancholic notes of "Leaving Yesterday," another high quality song that possesses an outstanding vocal duet. Surprises are not over yet, and it's the turn of the obscure litanies of "The Storm Inside" and "Coma" to take us to the closing stages of the album, which ends with the cute final piece called "Post Life". Wolverine: heroes (but wasn't he alone?) of the future.

Reissued/remastered in 2005 by Earache with a variant track breakdown and a bonus track "Again."

End (0:45) / My Room (8:04) / His Cold Touch (Part 1) (9:43) / His Cold Touch (Part 2) (1:52) / Leaving Yesterday (7:11) / Towards Loss (5:55) / The Storm Inside (7:56) / Coma (7:25) / Release (2:12) / Post Life (5:57)

Marcus Losbjer - drums, death vocals
Stefan Zell - bass, clean vocals
Mikael Zell - guitar
Andreas "Bagge" Baglien - keyboards, organ
Per Broddesson - guitar

Oliver Philipps - additional vocals
Jamina Jansson - vocals (5)

Fervent Dream (1999)
The Window Purpose (2001)
Cold Light Of Monday (2003)
Still (2006)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin SE

Added: February 8th 2002
Reviewer: Igor Italiani

Artist website: www.wolverine-overdose.com
Hits: 495
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]