Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - Thick As A Brick (40th Anniversary Special Edition)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 47 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Wolverine - The Window Purpose


    Year of Release: 2001
    Label: DVS Records
    Catalog Number: DVS 005
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 57:04:00

    I would really like to know what's the secret that lies behind the copious and convincing Scandinavian music wonders. Clean (and frozen!) air, immaculate landscapes or more easily the strong presence of the five-line stave starting from the early days of school? Well, while I wait to find the right answers, let's focus briefly on another new and gifted band coming from this place: Wolverine. These 5 young guys already released a mini-CD two years ago, but only now (in my opinion), with the huge distribution of the new The Window Purpose, we can really start to appreciate their immense class. And even if the roots of the ensemble are linked to the intimate/dramatic progressive metal that characterizes bands like Pain Of Salvation and Fates Warning, we must say that Wolverine are able to create a path of their own, a path that develops into something new and exciting. An early display of what I say is given by the semi-dark attack of "His Cold Touch," a versatile tune that steers our attention thanks to a great overall performance of the group, who recalls also a little of Evergrey with the growling of some passages positioned here and there. But we are only at the beginning, and after a little acoustic interlude we are welcomed by the melancholic notes of "Leaving Yesterday," another high quality song that possesses an outstanding vocal duet. Surprises are not over yet, and it's the turn of the obscure litanies of "The Storm Inside" and "Coma" to take us to the closing stages of the album, which ends with the cute final piece called "Post Life". Wolverine: heroes (but wasn't he alone?) of the future.

    Reissued/remastered in 2005 by Earache with a variant track breakdown and a bonus track "Again."


    Tracklisting:
    End (0:45) / My Room (8:04) / His Cold Touch (Part 1) (9:43) / His Cold Touch (Part 2) (1:52) / Leaving Yesterday (7:11) / Towards Loss (5:55) / The Storm Inside (7:56) / Coma (7:25) / Release (2:12) / Post Life (5:57)

    Musicians:
    Marcus Losbjer - drums, death vocals
    Stefan Zell - bass, clean vocals
    Mikael Zell - guitar
    Andreas "Bagge" Baglien - keyboards, organ
    Per Broddesson - guitar

    Guests:
    Oliver Philipps - additional vocals
    Jamina Jansson - vocals (5)

    Discography:
    Fervent Dream (1999)
    The Window Purpose (2001)
    Cold Light Of Monday (2003)
    Still (2006)

    Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

    Origin SE

    Added: February 8th 2002
    Reviewer: Igor Italiani

    Artist website: www.wolverine-overdose.com
    Hits: 222
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds