Agents Of Mercy - Dramarama

Year of Release: 2010
Label: Foxtrot Records
Catalog Number: FOX CD 030
Format: CD
Total Time: 74:33:00

Roine Stolt spends a lot of time writing music and playing guitar. If he is not trotting around the globe with his beloved Flower Kings, he is either performing solo work, cranking out solos for supergroup Transatlantic or even jamming in a jazz fusion band called 3RD World Electric (check out Kilimanjaro Secret Brew for a taste), which really is not a stretch for a guitar genius like Stolt. In 2009, to add to the ever growing list, he started another project called Agents of Mercy. An acoustic experiment with vocalist Nad Sylvan (Unifaun) turned into a full blown band. They would subsequently release a solid debut titled The Fading Ghosts Of Twilight. It was a fine slice of prog rock and you had to wonder what was around the corner for the versatile Mr. Stolt.

What I appreciate most about Stolt is that he is always ready to push the boundaries and take a chance in whatever band configuration he happens to be in at the time, and good luck keeping tabs on that movement by the way.

So along comes 2010 and now we have a brilliant sophomore release from Agents of Mercy to enjoy called Dramarama. Lead singer Sylvan sounds like a cross between Gabriel and Fish, he certainly has a unique and pleasing vocal style that seems to fit quite well with temperaments and atmospheres provided by Stolt and company. Flower Kings and 3rd World Electric bandmate Jonas Reingold joins the proceedings on bass while Lalle Larsson (keys) and Walle Wahigren (drums. percussion) fill out the rest of the positions in the band. Note that Stolt, in addition to providing vocals and lead guitar, contributes with additional keys, ukulele, and lap steel.

In the 12 tracks comprising this CD I would find it difficult to single out any tracks as the best, as they all were top shelf prog rock compositions. To be fair, I would have to say I did have my favorites like the lead off track "The Duke Of Sadness," which was the most prolific lyrically and musically for these ears. "Last Few Grains Of Hope" and "Conspiracy" were as equally dark and emotional with some tremendous musicianship providing the highlights. Roine?s guitar playing is once again exemplary on every account and the vocals are a superb compliment to the message in the lyrics and the music that push them all along so effortlessly.

I have listened to this album countless times and have not tired one bit from what it has to offer, and there always seems to be something that catches my ear or touches me on an emotional level that didn?t the previous time I gave it a spin. That is what prog rock is supposed to do, capture your imagination, create imagery in your mind?s eye and challenge your psyche.

This band does not reach the level of a powerhouse like Transatlantic, it is a different kind of prog, but they certainly match up well with the Flower Kings after putting this release out. This is a band that is fully matured now with an exciting future ahead if it stays together.

The Duke Of Sadness (9:17) / Last Few Grains Of Hope (7:10) / Peace United (5:47) / Journey (7:45) / Gratitude (6:34) / Meet Johnnie Walker (5:29) / Cinnamon Tree (3:22) / The Ballad Of Mary Chilton (4:50) / Roger The Tailor (4:44) / Conspiracy (4:06) / We Have Been Freed (8:37) / Time (5:01)

Nad Sylvan - vocals, keyboards
Roine Stolt - guitars
Jonas Reingold -bass
Lalle Larsson - keyboards
Walle Wahlgren - drums

The Fading Ghosts Of Twilight (2009)
The Power Of Two - Live In The USA (joint release w/Karmakanic) (2009)
Dramarama (2010)
The Black Forest (2011)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin SE

Added: December 14th 2010
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 1744
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]