Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - A Passion Play - An Extended Performance
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 67 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Jethro Tull - Aqualung 40th Anniversary Box Set


    Year of Release: 2011
    Label: EMI
    Catalog Number: 87996
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 557:00:00

    There are two albums that defined the Jethro Tull legacy, Aqualung and Thick As A Brick. There were claims that Aqualung was a concept album to witch Ian Anderson said poppycock! The album revolved around social issues that are still prevalent today. Ian and the band challenged the beliefs of church and state and even God! Oh my! Well none of that ever scared us away now did it? Why did so many people insist it was a concept album, perhaps because it sounded more prog? The music stood on its own thank you very much and it did not need any fabricated labels to make it all legitimate. Anderson has never been happy with the recording quality and finally after all these years we get to hear Aqualung in all its sonic glory as it was originally envisioned.

    There are more choices for listening experiences in this set than you could possibly imagine. The Aqualung 40th Anniversary Box Set includes the following: 1 180gm Vinyl LP, 2 CDs, 1 DVD, 1 Blu-ray disc, an album sized 48 page hardback book that includes details of the albums recording sessions, engineering perspectives and stories from all the band members, lyrics of every song including some of the alternative versions and rare archive pictures. All this comes housed in a quality hard cardboard case with new artwork. When you open the gatefold vinyl LP cover there are the 4 discs that fit into pockets that cleverly match with the bodies of the two characters portrayed.

    The ever popular Steven Wilson was enlisted by Ian Anderson to handle the knob turning and once again he has outdone himself making his services so well known that he probably could spend the rest of his life remastering prog rock classics and put his recording career into permanent retirement. We don�t want to see that happen though as Wilson has produced plenty of brilliant music of his own over the years with Porcupine Tree and several other projects and most recently released an eclectic double solo album titled Grace For Drowning.

    There are some striking changes to this legendary recording that everyone should hear now, especially if you are an Aqualung or prog rock fan. Some folks may think that all this attention to one release is overkill, but I must say now that, after taking in this entire experience presented here, I have a completely different viewpoint of the recording. All the engaging stories behind the album are like having your own private window into a time machine and that is an added bonus.

    A few of the tracks that benefited the most from the new versions are "Aqualung," "Cross-Eyed Mary" and "Wond'ring Aloud," which showed how diverse the band could be. Speaking of variety, "From Later" is a bonus track that may surprise many folks. It is a lighthearted instrumental jazz-rock fusion track that sounds as if it could have been playing on any progressive jazz radio station in the 70s, or now as a matter of fact.

    Evaluating this massive set was a work in progress for over a week. I found many things to take into consideration and plenty to rant and rave about. I ran into similar problems as I did with previous remasters (e.g. King Crimson reissues, Bowie - Station To Station box) such as the New Mix-DTS 96/24 5.1 Surround version not producing any sound. DTS never works on any remaster for me so the Quad version did not work either; however, the 96/24 LPCM and the New Mix Dolby Surround Sound 48/24 5.1 Surround Sound versions were superlative in many instances, as was a fantastic pristine version of the Quad Dolby 48/24 4.1, which yielded similar qualities but different results for the discerning ear. On the New Mix Dolby Surround Sound 48/24 5.1 Surround version I noticed a very obvious fluctuation with volume throughout some of the songs, from sharp exciting highs to a sudden drop out of the overall sound and in the same instance I could recognize the improvements when it was holding the EQ/VU properly. I also could not get the Blu-ray disc to work properly. I saw a forum dedicated to this release where one individual said similar things and I know there is no problem with my stereo system. I think you need a system that is top notch that is only a few years old (mine is 5.1 surround sound but several years old now) so perhaps this is why I have experienced repeating problems in certain formats. And finally, one omission that made no sense at all to me was the inclusion of any video footage. With everything that went into this beautiful set I find it very disappointing. In the end I guess it depends how discerning a listener you are and what you have come to expect with all the different versions that are offered. Since I already knew the DTS was going to be a problem it did not upset me and I was able to enjoy everything else immensely and recognized all of the fantastic improvements that Wilson was able to engineer throughout each specific version. The negatives did outweigh the positives.

    I heard many things I had never heard before which is what this is all about. The new stereo mix is exceptional as well and with the 14 additional tracks it certainly is an attractive set to own. What I found interesting with the 5.1 surround sound versions of the bonus tracks was that they were perfect; I heard no volume fluctuations whatsoever.

    The LP version is astoundingly crisp and clear and quite a treat for the ears compared to the original version. This is nothing like the 5.1 surround sound with the added instruments and other elements popping up here and there to perk up your ears and senses, yet it is a vast improvement upon what was previously available in typical vinyl releases for overall sonics and crispness.

    Largely this is a very impressive set in regards to sound, packaging and extras. This is for audiophiles, collectors, JT fans and above all music fans that are interested in the process of making an album and hearing from the cast of characters who had a hand in making it all come to life. I now have a deeper understanding and appreciation for Aqualung and one that I could have never had if it were not for this amazing and revealing set.

    © MuzikReviews.com


    Tracklisting:
    Disc One: Aqualung (New Stereo Mix) / Cross-Eyed Mary (New Stereo Mix) / Cheap Day Return (New Stereo Mix) / Mother Goose (New Stereo Mix) / Wond'ring Aloud (New Stereo Mix) / Up To Me (New Stereo Mix) / My God (New Stereo Mix) / Hymn 43 (New Stereo Mix) / Slipstream (New Stereo Mix) / Locomotive Breath (New Stereo Mix) / Wind-Up (New Stereo Mix)

    Disc Two: Aqualung (New Stereo Mix) / Cross-Eyed Mary (New Stereo Mix) / Cheap Day Return (New Stereo Mix) / Mother Goose (New Stereo Mix) / Wond'ring Aloud (New Stereo Mix) / Up To Me (New Stereo Mix) / My God (New Stereo Mix) / Hymn 43 (New Stereo Mix) / Slipstream (New Stereo Mix) / Locomotive Breath (New Stereo Mix) / Wind-Up (New Stereo Mix)

    Disc Three: Lick Your Fingers Clean (New Mix) / Just Trying To Be (New Mix) / My God (Early Version) / Wond'ring Aloud (13th December 1970) / Wind-Up (Early Version - New Mix) / Slipstream (Take 2) / Up The 'Pool (Early Version) / Wond'ring Aloud, Again (Full Morgan Version) / Life Is A Long Song (New Mix) / Up The 'Pool (New Mix) / Dr Bogenbroom (2011 - Remaster) / From Later (2011 - Remaster) / Nursie (2011 - Remaster) / US Radio Spot

    Disc Four: Aqualung (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Cross-Eyed Mary (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Cheap Day Return (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Mother Goose (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Wond'ring Aloud (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Up To Me (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / My God (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Hymn 43 (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Slipstream (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Locomotive Breath (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Wind-Up (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Lick Your Fingers Clean (New Mix) (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / My God (Early Version) (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Up The 'Pool (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Life Is A Long Song (New Mix) (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Aqualung (New Stereo Mix) / Cross-Eyed Mary (New Stereo Mix) / Cheap Day Return (New Stereo Mix) / Mother Goose (New Stereo Mix) / Wond'ring Aloud (New Stereo Mix) / Up To Me (New Stereo Mix) / My God (New Stereo Mix) / Hymn 43 (New Stereo Mix) / Slipstream (New Stereo Mix) / Locomotive Breath (New Stereo Mix) / Wind-Up (New Stereo Mix) / Lick Your Fingers Clean (New Mix) / Just Trying To Be (New Mix) / My God (Early Version) / Wond'ring Aloud (13th December 1970) / Wind-Up (Early Version - New Mix) / Slipstream (Take 2) / Up The 'Pool (Early Version) / Wond'ring Aloud, Again (Full Morgan Version) / Life Is A Long Song (New Mix) / Up The 'Pool (New Mix) / Dr Bogenbroom (2011 - Remaster) / From Later (2011 - Remaster) / Nursie (2011 - Remaster) / Aqualung (Quad Mix) / Cross-Eyed Mary (Quad Mix) / Cheap Day Return (Quad Mix) / Mother Goose (Quad Mix) / Wond'ring Aloud (Quad Mix) / Up To Me (Quad Mix) / My God (Quad Mix) / Hymn 43 (Quad Mix) / Slipstream (Quad Mix) / Locomotive Breath (Quad Mix) / Wind-Up (Quad Mix)

    Disc Five: Aqualung (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Cross-Eyed Mary (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Cheap Day Return (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Mother Goose (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Wond'ring Aloud (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Up To Me (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / My God (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Hymn 43 (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Slipstream (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Locomotive Breath (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Wind-Up (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Lick Your Fingers Clean (New Mix) (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / My God (Early Version) (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Up The 'Pool (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Life Is A Long Song (New Mix) (5.1 Surround Sound Mix) / Aqualung (New Stereo Mix) / Cross-Eyed Mary (New Stereo Mix) / Cheap Day Return (New Stereo Mix) / Mother Goose (New Stereo Mix) / Wond'ring Aloud (New Stereo Mix) / Up To Me (New Stereo Mix) / My God (New Stereo Mix) / Hymn 43 (New Stereo Mix) / Slipstream (New Stereo Mix) / Locomotive Breath (New Stereo Mix) / Wind-Up (New Stereo Mix) / Lick Your Fingers Clean (New Mix) / Just Trying To Be (New Mix) / My God (Early Version) / Wond'ring Aloud (13th December 1970) / Wind-Up (Early Version - New Mix) / Slipstream (Take 2) / Up The 'Pool (Early Version) / Wond'ring Aloud, Again (Full Morgan Version) / Life Is A Long Song (New Mix) / Up The 'Pool (New Mix) / Dr Bogenbroom (2011 - Remaster) / From Later (2011 - Remaster) / Nursie (2011 - Remaster) / Aqualung / Cross Eyed Mary / Cheap Day Return / Mother Goose / Wond'Ring Aloud / Up To Me / My God / Hymn 43 / Slipstream / Locomotive Breath / Wind Up / Aqualung (Quad Mix) / Cross-Eyed Mary (Quad Mix) / Cheap Day Return (Quad Mix) / Mother Goose (Quad Mix) / Wond'ring Aloud (Quad Mix) / Up To Me (Quad Mix) / My God (Quad Mix) / Hymn 43 (Quad Mix) / Slipstream (Quad Mix) / Locomotive Breath (Quad Mix) / Wind-Up (Quad Mix)

    Musicians:
    Ian Anderson - lead vocals, flute
    Clive Bunker - drums
    Martin Barre - guitar
    John Evan - piano and organ
    Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond - bass

    Discography:
    This Was (1968)
    Stand Up (1969)
    Benefit (1970)
    Aqualung (1971)
    Thick As A Brick (1972)
    Living In The Past (1972)
    A Passion Play (1973)
    War Child (1974)
    Minstrel In The Gallery (1975)
    M.U. The Best Of (1976)
    Too Old To Rock 'N' Roll: Too Young To Die (1976)
    Songs From The Wood (1977)
    Repeat - The Best Of Jethro Tull Vol 2 (1977)
    Heavy Horses (1978)
    Bursting Out - Live (1978)
    Stormwatch (1979/2004)
    'A' (1980)
    The Broadsword And The Beast (1982/2005)
    Under Wraps (1984)
    Original Masters (1985)
    Crest Of A Knave (1987/2005)
    20 Years Of Jethro Tull (1988)
    Rock Island (1988)
    Catfish Rising (1991)
    A Little Light Music (1992)
    The Anniversary Collection (1993)
    25th Anniversary Box Set (1993)
    Nightcap (1995)
    Roots To Branches (1995)
    J-Tull Dot Com (1999)
    The Very Best Of (2001)
    Living With The Past (2002)
    The Jethro Tull Christmas Album (2003)
    Nothing Is Easy: Live At The Isle Of Wight 1970 (2004)
    Aqualung Live (2005)
    Live At Montreux 2003 (2007)
    LIve At Madison Square Garden (2009)
    Christmas Album (2009)
    Live In Switzerland 2003 (LP) (2014)

    Slipstream (VHS) (1991)
    First 20 Years (VHS) (1992)
    25th Anniversary Video (1994) (VHS)
    Living With The Past (DVD) (2002) A New Day Yesterday 1969-1994 (DVD) (2003)
    Nothing Is Easy: Live At The Isle Of Wight 1970 (DVD) (2005)
    NOthing Is Easy/Living With The Past (DVD) (2007)
    Jack In The Green: Live In Germany (DVD) (2008)
    Live In Bethlehem, PA, 2003 (DVD) (2008)
    Their Full Authorized Story (DvD) (2009)
    Live At AVO Session 2008 (DVD) (2009)

    Genre: Progressive Rock

    Origin UK

    Added: December 13th 2011
    Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
    Score:
    Artist website: www.jethrotull.com
    Hits: 1481
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds