Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - A Passion Play - An Extended Performance
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 79 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Flying Colors - Flying Colors


    Year of Release: 2012
    Label: Music Theories Recordings
    Catalog Number: MTR 7363
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 60:46:00

    So we have yet another super group and another band that Mike Portnoy is in? Well, yes that is a fact and those of you that enjoy great rock music of all sorts should be rejoicing right now because a classic album is waiting to hit those starved ear drums and to relieve you of all the garbage that is out there on the internet and radio. This relief comes in the form of the new band Flying Colors. The members are Mike Portnoy (drums, vocals), Neal Morse (keyboards, vocals), Steve Morse (guitar), Dave LaRue (bass) and Casey McPherson (lead vocals).

    For those of you that are not familiar with the members in this band, everyone has impressive resumes. Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, Transatlantic, Avenged Sevenfold), Neal Morse (Spock's Beard, Transatlantic, solo), Steve Morse (Dixie Dregs, Deep Purple, solo) and Dave LaRue (Dixie Dregs, Steve Morse Band) have a lot in common and are no strangers when it comes to their music and who they have played with. Casey McPherson seems to be the odd man out, but wait! It sounds like he has been with this group of players for quite some time after you listen to the album and he was indeed the perfect fit for this project.

    Now you are probably thinking, who is Casey McPherson? I have a feeling once this album catches on -- and it will, mind you, and very quickly -- you will be hearing that name more often. One listen to "Kayla" and the range this guy has will serve as a welcome mat to any listener. His sweet yet powerful vocals set the tone for their music. He had an album out for Disney in 2010 titled New Morning that debuted in the Top 5 on two Billboard Charts. He is also from a band called Alpha Rev, and he was recommended by who else but Mike Portnoy. I think Mike should start his own label and hand pick talent, groom them, produce them, and then distribute their albums worldwide. He certainly has a knack for it. He did a lot of that when he was running the Progressive Nation Tours, and very successfully.

    This self-titled release has a little bit of everyone in the music which means that stylistically you will hear just about everything. Now think about that for a moment. All the influences and talents of each band member colliding in the studio to bang out 11 tracks of glorious rock... or should I say they are flying their colors. That sounds exciting and it is, every second of it is charged with energy, outstanding musicianship and finely crafted songs ranging from over 3 to 12 minutes. So what you end up hearing is a steaming cauldron of rock, pop, progressive, funk, etc. over the course of this recording. All eleven tracks are excellent. With a lineup such as this, that is what you expect, but super groups do not always work out very well. I think what you have here is a bunch of ultra-talented guys having fun and allowing the magic to happen without personality or ego issue getting in the way.

    You get that kicked-back, relaxed atmosphere feeling right from the start with "Blue Ocean" when it kicks off with some comfortable studio banter that leads you into the track. LaRue begins it with a "walk across the floor" bass line that sets the stage. After that song runs its course, the realization that you are in for something special takes hold and fortunately never lets go. This is a made for radio hit if I ever heard one, but we all know that will never happen because corporate radio has blinders on. "Shoulda Coulda Woulda" is an all out rocker with fat power chords sparking from Morse's guitar, then Portnoy and LaRue lay down the juggernaut bottom end that takes it all for a musical rollercoaster ride. What I found a real treat was hearing McPherson sing (he reminded me of Sixx: A.M.'s James Michael) and Neal Morse offering his signature vocals to the mix as well. It turns out to be a very successful partnership and appealing sound that holds firm throughout the run of the CD.

    One of the pleasant surprises of the album is Portnoy taking over the lead vocals on "Fool In My Heart." This is a very good track and although Portnoy is no McPherson and never will be, he does a fine job with the song. It actually seems like a perfect fit. Is this a song about himself or someone he knows possibly? One never knows about these things but in any case it really is an enjoyable track.

    Fittingly the band ends with the prog rock monster track "Infinite Ride," which takes 12:02 minutes. It leaves you feeling that the more you listen to this music the more it feels like the title of the track. I really hope this is not going to be a one off recording. I mean, this is one of the best albums for variety and talent I have heard in quite some time. Yes the self-titled Flying Colors is destined to be hailed as a classic right out the gate. Let's hope that this is just the beginning of this exciting new band.


    Tracklisting:
    Blue Ocean (7:05) / Shoulda Coulda Woulda (4:32) / Kayla (5:20) / The Storm (4:53) / Forever In A Daze (3:56) / Love Is What I'm Waiting For (3:36) / Everything Changes (6:55) / Better Than Walking Away (4:57) / All Falls Down (3:22) / Fool In My Heart (3:48) / Infinite Fire (12:02)

    Musicians:
    Dave LaRue - bass
    Casey McPherson - vocals, electric guitar, keyboards
    Neal Morse - keyboards, vocals
    Steve Morse - acoustic and electric guitars
    Mike Portnoy - drums, percussion, vocals

    Discography:
    Flying Colors (2012)

    Genre: Progressive Rock

    Origin US

    Added: February 20th 2012
    Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
    Score:
    Artist website: flyingcolorsmusic.com
    Hits: 10045
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds