Ines - The Flow

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Tempus Fugit
Catalog Number: 726221-2
Format: CD
Total Time: 55:02:00

The German "fraulein" Ines had already released two albums for the equally German WMMS label (by the way, Peter Wustman, where are you?). Both Hunting The Fox and Eastern Dawning offered a nice balance between good compositions and nice keyboard work. On her latest The Flow she looks more like the Marilyn Monroe of prog, very sophisticated indeed. In turn, the amount of keyboard on this album is less prominent.

Backed by a large part of the Italian band Asgard, Ines delivers 13 beautiful songs with keyboards as the backbone. In the spotlight however is the voice of Chicco Grosso, whilst acoustic instruments such as accordion, violin and bagpipes give the music an extra edge. Drummer Marco Michieletto got lessons from Toto drummer Jeff Porcaro's dad, which is a thing you can clearly hear in his quality drumming, resulting in a very professional output. The short "Flow 1" is beautifully crafted in true folk/medieval tradition which means even fans of Minimum Vital and Gryphon will enjoy this music. In fact The Flow means the musical ideas "flow" whilst a bunch of friends-musicians offer their collaboration to work out and record these ideas. From a distance, "After All These Moves" sounds a bit like Peter Gabriel. The love for his world music can also be sensed here, which again means the album is much different than the two previous albums. The Flow is a very mature album in every aspect, boasting a huge variety of interesting compositions. A very strong album!

Feel The River's Dance (4:51) / The River And Me (4:17) / In A Space Made Of Blue (4:43) / Flow 1 (1:20) / I'm Part Of The River (4:38) / After All These Moves (5:00) / Downhill (4:10) / Stranded (4:23) / Flow 2 (1:44) / On The Shore (5:26) / Flow 3 (4:46) / The Place By The Sea (2:53) / Wishing Well (6:24)

Ines - keyboards, accordeon, backing vocals
Hansi Fuchs - guitars, vocals
Davide Piai - bass, Chapman stick
Chicco Grosso - vocals
Massimo Michieletto - guitars
Marco Michieletto - drums, percussion

Hunting The Fox (1994)
Eastern Dawning (1996)
The Flow (1999)
Slipping Into The Unknown (2002)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin DE

Added: March 1st 2000
Reviewer: John "Bobo" Bollenberg

Artist website:
Hits: 1465
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]