Ayreon - The Final Experiment - Special Edition

Year of Release: 2005
Label: Inside Out Music
Catalog Number: IOMCD 202/SPV 085-40832 D
Format: CD
Total Time: 102:05:00

I have listened to Arjen Lucassen?s (AKA Ayreon) music from present day back to his first step into the realm of rock operas. The Final Experiment, originally released in 1995 [by Transmission, TM-001], is another lost prog-rock classic. This was a huge step forward in Arjen?s career. It was risky at the time for him to release this album, but as all of his followers know, it was the beginning of a long string of strong albums with a thematic concept and Ayreon as the main character.

This special edition remastered 2 CD set does the legacy of this recording fairness and then some. Listening to the bonus disc was like hearing Human Equation revisited, obviously due to that fact that the people involved on that project contributed once again. The bonus disc is all-acoustic, unplugged if you will, recorded right from scratch because Luccassen believed it should be a two-disc set just as its predecessors were. As much as I enjoyed The Final Experiment, I have to be honest, the bonus disc was so wonderful I could not get enough of it.

I feel my sojourn into the catalog of Ayreon is complete, for now. I now understand how this fine artist has developed as a musician and storyteller. It all makes perfect sense now why he chose to continue his Ayreon epic with so many albums. First, it is a brilliant concept to take from start to finish, and an open-ended storyline that leaves room for more great albums, another stroke of musical genius I must say.

This how Arjen Lucassen began to build his Electric Castle, it is indeed the foundation to the monument of his recorded works.

Prologue (3:17): A. The Time Telepathy Experiment - B. Overture - C. Ayreon's Quest / Act I: The Dawning: The Awareness (6:36): A. The Premonition - B. Dreamtime (Words Become A Song) - C. The Awakening / Eyes Of Time (5:06): A. Eyes Of Time - B. Brainwaves / The Banishment (11:08): A. A New Dawn - B. The Gathering - C. The Accusation - D. The Banishment - E. Oblivion / Act II: King Arthur's Court: Ye Courtyard Minstrel Boy (2:46) / Sail Away To Avalon (4:02) / Nature's Dance (2:28) / Act III: Visual Echoes: Computer-Reign (Game Over) (3:25) / Waracle (6:44) / Listen To The Waves (4:59) / Magic Ride (3:36) / Act IV: Merlin's Will And Ayreon's Fate: Merlin's Will (3:20) / The Charm Of The Seer (4:12) / Swan Song (2:44) / Ayreon's Fate (6:56): A. Ayreon's Fate - B. Merlin's Prophecy - C. Epilogue

Bonus Disc: Dreamtime (4:19) / Eyes Of Time (3:25) / The Accusation (3:49) / Ye Courtyard Minstrel Boy (2:50) / Sail Away To Avalon (3:26) / Nature's Dance (2:03) / Waracle (5:16) / Merlin's Will (3:29) / The Charm Of The Seer (3:29)

Edward Reekers, Lenny Wolf, Robert Soeterboek, Jan-Chris De Koeijer, Ian Parry, Barry Hay, Arjen Lucassen, Jan Van Feggelen, Leon Goewie, Ruud Houweling, Lucie Hillen, Mirjam Van Doorn, Debby Schreuder - vocals
Rene Merkelbach, Jolanda Verduijn - backing vocals
Arjen Lucassen - guitars, keyboards; bass (2B, 9, 10, 12, 13)
Cleem Determeijer - Hammond, minimoog, mellotron, vocoder, Oberheim, Juno, harpsichord, piano and keyboards
Ernst Van Ee - drums
Jolanda Verduijn - bass (4B+C, 6, 15A +B)
Peter Vink - bass (3A+B, 4D+E, 8)
Jan Bijlsma - bass (11)
Barry Hay - alto flute (6)

Ayreon - The Final Experiment (1995)
Ayreon - Actual Fantasy (1996)
Ayreon - Into The Electric Castle (1998)
Ayreon - The Univeral Migrator Part 1: The Dream Sequencer (2000)
Ayreon - The Universal Migrator Part 2: Flight Of The Migrator (2000)
Ayreon - Ayreonnauts Only (2000)
Ambeon - Fate Of A Dreamer (2001)
Arjen Anthony Lucassen's Star One - Space Metal (2002)
Arjen Anthony Lucassen's Star One - Live On Earth (2003)
Ayreon - The Human Equation (2004)
Ayreon - Actual Fantasy Revisited (2004)
Ayreon - The Final Experiment - Special Edition (2005)
Ayreon - 01011001 (2008)
Ayreon - Timeline (2008)
Arjen Lucassen's Guilt Machine - Arjen Lucassen's Guilt Machine (2009)
Arjen Anthony Lucassen's Star One - Victims Of The Modern Age (2010)
Arjen Anthony Lucassen - Lost In The New Real (2012)
Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything (2013)
Ayreon - The Theater Equation (CD/DVD) (2016)
Ayreon - The Source (CD/DVD) (2017)
Ayreon - Ayreon Universe - Best Of Ayreon Live (2018)

Ayreon - The Theater Equation (BR) (2016) Ayreon - Ayreon Universe - Best Of Ayreon Live (DVD/BR) (2018)

Genre: Symphonic Prog

Origin NL

Added: May 30th 2005
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website: www.ayreon.com
Hits: 1151
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]