Adagio - Sanctus Ignis

Year of Release: 2001
Label: SPV
Catalog Number: SPV 085-41572
Format: CD
Total Time: 58:39:00

French Guitar virtuoso Stefan Fort?, a well acclaimed musician in the French scene, is the mastermind behind this bombastic mix of symphonic, neoclassic, speed laden release under the banner Adagio. The album is entitled Sanctus Ignis and contains 10 songs filled with classical orgasms underlined with heavy Malmsteen style guitar playing with a nice touch of melody and diversity any fan of progressive music would appreciate.

Stefan managed to find support in form of Franck Hermanny on bass, Dirk Bruinenberg on drums (Elegy), David Readman on vocals (Pink Cream 69), keyboard player and founder of Majestic Richard Anderssen and last but not least, the maestro himself, Mr. Fort? who plays all the guitars. As mentioned earlier, Stefan's infatuation with Malmsteen it is very evident on this disc, but he manages to combine the same with a great talent of composing classical music often in Baroque/Mozart style, something most listeners of the genre would have recognised from the early releases of Symphony X. David's vocals are sung clean and straight down the line and most of the music flows quite easily but still many listeners would need more than one listen to fully appreciate the intense richness and clever arrangements of the individual classical parts in the songs.

Sanctus Ignis combines many styles within the neoclassical genre and the guitar playing of Stefan Fort? is just outstanding to say the least. Also Pink Cream 69's Dennis Ward managed to produce a superb and big sounding album considering that most of the music revolves around the guitars and keys. Nevertheless, in some of the songs, the maestro seems to have tried a touch too hard and leaves some of the flow and musicality of the songs behind for virtuosity and self-indulgence.

Listen to one of the weirdest covers I have heard in years with the Led Zeppelin number "Immigrant Song."

[This review originally appeared at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Second Sight (6:07) / The Inner Road (5:45) / In Nomine? (5:04) / The Stringless Violin (7:00) / Seven Lands Of Sin (11:40) / Order Of Enlil (4:19) / Sanctus Ignis (4:07) / Panem Et Circences (5:21) / Immigrant Song (4:55) / Bonus track: Niflheim (4:05)

Stephan Fort? - guitars
Dirk Bruinenburg - drums
Richard Andersson - keyboards
David Readman - vocals
Franck Hermanny - bass

Santus Ignis (2001)
Underworld (2003)

Genre: Progressive/Power Metal

Origin FR

Added: November 1st 2002
Reviewer: Peter Fundeis
Artist website:
Hits: 1355
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]