Aeolus - Dust On The Mirror

Year of Release: 2003
Label: LaBraD'or Records
Catalog Number: LBD 040015
Format: CD
Total Time: 57:33:00

Aeolus, the God of the Wind, was founded by two friends, Jurrie Teeuwen (electric and bass guitars) and Michiel Kramp (synthesisers and acoustic piano), who both have been making music for almost 20 years, and after a three year period of intensive work, they can now enjoy the fruits of their labour in the form of their debut album Dust On The Mirror In the process, they teamed up with singer Raymond van Kooten, who besides singing, also wrote the lyrics. Unfortunately he has decided to part ways with the band, but they have found a good replacement with Bart Fekkes. Additional help they got from Matthijs Hekking, who played drums.

The debut album, Dust On The Mirror, is a balanced mix of progressive rock and metal songs, from the excellent prog ballad "Come Here My Love," with a nice keyboard arrangement, to the heavy "It's Not Impossible," but also touching the popular nu-metal in the title track "Dust On The Mirror," yet not sounding commercial. Both the experience as well as the enthusiasm of both Teeuwen and Kramp is heard in the music, with some truly touching songs, like "Fate," the longest track on the album and well built up, with the drum sound of Hekking really standing out, as well as a fabulous guitar solo by Jurrie Teuwen.

A gem on the album is the ballad "Anonymous Embrace," with a beautiful acoustic steel string by guest musician Ruud Groenendijk, who also plays on the following track, "Where The Light Is Coming Through." These two songs are in my opinion the best of the album, with very good vocals by van Kooten. The God of the Winds speaks up in "Aeolus' Breath," which has a great keyboard intro and some heavy guitar riffs, bringing back that metal edge that most songs have. When the last notes of "Last Song" have faded away, know that the music of Aeolus will keep on playing in your mind!

Despite the fact that the production of the album, or at least several songs, needs some improvement, Aeolus has delivered a debut album they can be proud of and they show that progressive rock is very much alive. The artwork looks very good and Jurrie Teeuwen and Michiel Kramp have demonstrated to have good composing skills, which they can only improve. So with a keen interest, I look forward to their next album.

Similar Bands: Timelock, Vanden Plas

[This review originally appeared at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Vicious Circle (6:25) / Come Here My Love (5:12) / Fate (7:32) / Dust On The Mirror (5:31) / Forbidden City (5:25) / Anonymous Embrace (3.33) / Where Light Is Coming Through (6:58) / Tears (5:12) / It's Not Impossible (3:56) / Aeolus' Breath (6:55) / Last Song (1:44)

Jurrie Teeuwen - electric and bass guitars
Michiel Kramp - synthesisers and acoustic piano
Raymond Van Kooten - vocals
Matthijs Hekking - drums

Dust On The Mirror (2003)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin NL

Added: September 1st 2003
Reviewer: Marcel Haster
Artist website:
Hits: 1478
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]