Circle II Circle - Watching In Silence

Year of Release: 2003
Label: AFM-Records
Catalog Number: AFM CD 065-2
Format: CD
Total Time: 45:51:00

1993 was a sad year for Savatage, as in that year Criss Oliva was killed by a drunk driver. In that year also Zak Stevens joined Savatage as vocalist and he became a very loved singer with the fans of the band. Many were therefore very disappointed when in mid-2000 he left Savatage to spend time with his family. Well, after 8 years of touring, that is a fair decision. However, Zak and Jon Oliva always kept in touch and about a year later they started working on some demo songs. Guitarist Matt LaPorte, who had auditioned for Savatage, was contacted and he joined the band. Later the band was completed with Christpoher Kinder (drums), Kevin Rothney (bass), John Zahner (keys) and John Werner (guitars).

What I noticed immediately is that the sound is very close to the Savatage sound, which is no surprise, as not only Jon Oliva, but also guitarist Chris Cafferey worked with Stevens on various songs. Unfortunately I find this a disadvantage, as the album could very well have been a Savatage album. Of course Zak's vocals are very good, and the rest of the band also performs well, but nothing new here. All typical Savatage elements are there, although the harmony vocals are somewhat different from Savatage.

I cannot say much more of this album. If you are a Savatage fan, you'll love this. It's not a bad album, but the songs could have been a bit more original. The album is very pleasant to listen to, so even if you are not familiar with Savatage, do give it a shot. After all, you might love it.

[This review originally appeared November 2003 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Out Of Reach (04:09) / Sea Of White (04:39) / Into The Wind (04:19) / Watching In Silence (04:25) / Forgiven (05:02) / Lies (03:26) / Face To Face (05:13) / Walls (04:28) / The Circle (03:30) / F.O.S. (06:40)

Zak Stevens - vocals
Matt LaPorte - guitar
Shane French - guitar
John Zahner - keys
Kevin Rothney - bass
Chris Kinder - drums

Watching In Silence (2003)
All That Remains (ep) (2005)
The Middle Of Nowhere (2005)
Revelations (ep) (2006)
Burden Of Truth (2006)
Every Last Thing (ep) (2008)
Delusions Of Grandeur (2008)
So Many Reasons (ep) (2008)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin US

Added: January 1st 2005
Reviewer: Marcel Haster
Artist website:
Hits: 1040
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]