Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - A Passion Play - An Extended Performance
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 112 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Kamelot - Epica


    Year of Release: 2003
    Label: Noise Records
    Catalog Number: NO3772
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 52:17:00

    Dear Diary: Day Zero

    Got my copy of Kamelot's Epica for review today. Have heard rumour this is going to be a good album. Did some reading up beforehand; it's to be a fantasy-concept piece, covering the story of the demonic temptation of main character Ariel, a modern-day Faust figure. Sounds interesting. Didn't have time to listen, but the cover is very pretty.

    Day One

    Listened to some of Epica today before work. It's not too bad. Actually I think I like it. Lots of smooth, exciting orchestral inclusions; musical skills from the band members are exceptional (particularly liked the orchestras and Thomas Youngblood's guitar entry to "Center Of The Universe"). Khan's vocals are flawless, as usual, and the female vocals of Mari provide a beautiful counterpart. Found myself inexplicably chewing my nails at work and humming the gorgeous, soulful chorus of "Wander." Listened again before going to bed. Must remember to mention the dark male choral sections in the first Interlude, "Opiate Soul," and "Edge Of Paradise;" reminds me a bit of John Williams' "Duel Of The Fates."

    Day Two

    Put Epica on when I woke up this morning. Listened again before going to work. Couldn't concentrate, so left work early. Picked an album at random to listen to; it was Epica.

    Day Three

    Woke up, was tired and crabby at everyone, but felt fine after listening to Epica. Housemates giving me funny looks. Don't know why, I'm just singing along to the beautiful "Coldest Winter's Night" ... well, I guess I've been listening to it for two hours.

    Day Four

    Accidentally missed work today. Didn't realise until 2pm, when the boss called up to find out where I was, though I couldn't hear the phone until I turned Epica down. Wasn't happy about having to turn it down, either, because I was busy admiring Casey Grillo's superb drum work in "Farewell." Housemates looking worried.

    Day Five

    Housemates took me to the doctor today. He showed me a video titled "This is your brain on Epica." There didn't seem anything strange about it, though I think it was pulsing in time with that fantastic heavy section at the beginning of "Lost & Damned." Had to listen when I got home to be sure.

    Day Six

    Housemates have stolen my copy of Epica, hidden it somewhere, and locked me in my room so I couldn't sneak out and buy another copy. They said something about taking me to some meeting tomorrow. Like hell. Am contemplating using my desk chair as a battering ram. In the meantime, am contenting self by trying to work out how to air guitar Youngblood's solo in "Descent Of The Archangel." May need to stop, though, before I get dislocated fingers.

    Day Seven

    Hi ... my name is Karyn and I'm an Epicaholic...

    (Disclaimer: some parts of this account may be slightly exaggerated. This does not change the fact that the reviewer thinks Kamelot's Epica is a goddamn awesome album, and commands you to go and buy it now. You hear? Now!)

    Similar to: Symphony X, Rhapsody, Blind Guardian

    [This review originally appeared June 2003 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]


    Tracklisting:
    Prologue / Center Of The Universe / Farewell / Interlude I (Opiate Soul) / Edge Of Paradise / Wander / Interlude II (Omen) / Descent Of The Archangel / Interlude III (At The Banquet) / A Feast For The Vain / The Coldest Winter Night / Lost & Damned / Helena's Theme / Interlude IV (Dawn) / The Mourning After / III Ways To Epica

    Musicians:
    Roy Khan - vocals
    Thomas Youngblood - guitars
    Glenn Barry - bass
    Casey Grillo - drums

    Discography:
    Eternity (1996)
    Dominion (1997)
    Siege Perilous (1998)
    The Fourth Legacy (2000)
    The Expedition - Live (2000)
    Karma (2001)
    Epica (2003)
    The Black Halo (2005)
    One Cold Winter's Night (2006)
    Ghost Opera (2007)
    Ghost Opera - The Second Coming (2008)

    One Cold Winter's Night (DVD) (2006)

    Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

    Origin US

    Added: January 1st 2005
    Reviewer: Karyn Hamilton
    Score:
    Artist website: www.kamelot.com
    Hits: 877
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds