White Willow - Storm Season

Year of Release: 2004
Label: The Laser's Edge
Catalog Number: LE 1038
Format: CD
Total Time: 47:23:00

White Willow has taken the next step in expanding their sound, and it is a step in the right direction. Storm Season is the band's fourth release on the Lasers Edge label and displays heavier elements that bring a well-needed balance. The crunching metallic riffs allow the impact of the band's signature folky ethereal music to be all the more powerful without drastically altering the bands sound. Yet, what stands out is the amazing keyboard work (Lars Fredrik Froislie), whether moog, piano, Hammond or Mellotron, solos or backing tracks, the keyboard sounds are incredible. The inclusion of the cello on some of the tracks enhances the eerie quality to the music. All the additions and embellishments have made this by far their best work.

The opening "Chemical Sunset" is one of the best tracks the band has recorded to date. The keyboards alone conjure up the 70s, add to the mix the orchestrated mid-section with flutes, cellos acoustic guitar, and you have a classic track. "Sally Left" continues to carry the intensity of the opener, leading into the folky "Endless Science." "Soulburn" contains male and female vocals which seem a little forced, and the male vocals just don?t sound great to these ears, but the music more than makes up for that. A little Rick Wakeman influence can even be heard during one of the keyboard solos with Moog and 'Tron.

White Willow has put out their best yet with Storm Season. Vocalist Sylvia Erichsen has parted ways with the band, and I am hoping that can be another change that will improve the band's sound. They have survived various lineup changes in the past and come out the better for it. Storm Season will easily make plenty of "best of" lists for 2004, mine included!

Chemical Sunset (7:58) / Sally Left (6:33) / Endless Science (3:37) / Soulburn (9:21) / Insomnia (5:49) / Storm Season (4:21) / Nightside Of Eden (9:44)

Jacob Holm-Lupo - electric, acoustic, and classical guitars and keyboards
Sylvia Erichsen - vocals
Johannes Saeb?e - electric guitars, electric baryton guitar
Marthe Berger Walthinsen - 4 & 5 string basses and tambourine
Lars Fredrik Fr?islie - piano, Mellotron M400, Hammond B3, mini-moog, synths, Fender Rhodes, Wurlitzer, and glockenspiel
Aage Moltke Schou - drums and percussion
Ketil Vestrum Einarsen - flutes, microsynth and tambourine
Sigrun Eng - cello
Finn Coren - vocals (4)
Teresa K. Aslanian - ghost voice (2)

Ignus Fatuus (1995)
Ex Tenebris (1998)
Sacrament (2000)
Storm Season (2004)
Signal To Noise (2006)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin NO

Added: January 17th 2005
Reviewer: Eric Porter

Artist website: www.whitewillow.info
Hits: 985
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]