Million - Detonator

Year of Release: 2004
Label: Majestic Rock Records
Catalog Number: MAJCD048
Format: CD
Total Time: 52:45:00

Wow, I thought these Swedes had disbanded after their first three albums. Now they are back on a new label with a brand new album. Million is one of those bands that has evolved and improved on each album and their last CD, Electric was a great album of the finest melodic metal. With each release they have toughened up their sound and this is also the case on their new album Detonator.

Since Electric, Million has been through some line-up changes: Hasse Johansson, Stefan Wetterlind and CT Rohdell have been replaced by Ulrich Carlsson (v) and Jonas Hermansson (g). Many might be wondering what effect this has had on the band and I can honestly tell you that Detonator is not only their best album yet, but also incredibly strong on song material and one of the best releases of the genre this year. It is one of my favourite albums at the moment.

Although this is their most heavy release to date, the songs are strikingly catchy and accessible. Not unlike the sadly overlooked (but brilliant) Entrance by Lion's Share, this album scores high on melody lines, catchy choruses and heavy guitar work. The songs are, for the most part, up-tempo melodic rockers but the band knows the importance of variety and slows down with a couple of ballads and some nice acoustic parts. Ulrich Carlsson has a strong, clean, mid-ranged voice and the production is given a rather raw and honest sound that more than meets my approval. There are many highlights on this CD and only two songs fall through as just "good." The remaining 10 songs all hold excellent quality.

Detonator is another nice surprise at the end of the year and comes highly recommended to fans of Pink Cream 69, Lion's Share's latest CD, & Seven Wishes and melodic metal in general.

Also released in 2001 by A2 Records

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

I'm Your Blood / I Know Your Name / Stronger Than Ever / Shadow Of The Cross / Showstopper / Even The Sun / Standing Proud / Bonebreaker / Ready For The Man / Race With The Devil / In Your Dreams / No Place Like Hell

BJ Laneby - bass
Ulrich Carlsson - vocals
Jonas Hermansson - guitars
Mikael B?hnke - keyboards
Per Westergren - drums

No. 1 (1993)
We, Ourselves & Us (1994)
Electric (1997)
Detonator (2001)
Kingsize (2004)

Genre: Melodic Rock-AOR

Origin SE

Added: January 17th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 1013
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]