Motörhead - Hammered

Year of Release: 2002
Label: SPV/Steamhammer
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 45:41:00

After 25 years in the business the biggest question is: what can we expect from the latest Motörhead release Hammered? Really a silly question since Lemmy and Co. have been extremely consistent and very careful not to make too much wind; ergo - no surprises here.

The eleven songs here stand divided between typical 80s style Motörhead songs like "Brave New World," "Kill The World," "Red Raw" or "No Remorse." These songs display fast double kicks with speed metal licks and an almost punk metal style guitar/bass sound. The other half of the CD reflects a more rock 'n' roll oriented sound. By memory, Lemmy (v/b) had always claimed that Motörhead is not a heavy metal band but a rock 'n' roll outfit. (According to Lemmy, it is the high vocals that make the difference between heavy metal and rock 'n' roll. Go figure?). The biggest surprise was the opening song "Walk A Crooked Mile," which has radio airplay written all over it with its (for Motörhead) unusual melodic chorus and beat - remember "Please Don't Touch" from the Motörhead/Girlschool collaboration in 1981?

The album has its moments and will satisfy the die hard Motörheaders amongst you, but I thought that Motörhead had surrendered their creativity and freshness a long time ago, and in today's music market your album needs to have a higher quota of good songs than Hammered's 50%. For the newcomers - or the "who is Motörhead?" brigade - people, approach with caution.

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Walk A Crooked Mile / Down The Line / Brave New World / Voices From The War / Mine All Mine / Shut Your Mouth / Kill The World / Dr. Love / No Remorse / Red Raw / Serial Killer / Bonus Track: The Game

Lemmy Kilmister - bass, vocals
Phil Campbell - guitars
Mikkey Dee - drums

On Parole (1976)
Mot?rhead (1977)
Overkill (1979)
Bomber (1979)
Ace Of Spades (1980)
No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith (1981)
Iron Fist (1982)
Another Perfect Day (1983)
No Remorse (1984)
The Birthday Party (1985) (comp.)
Orgasmatron (1986)
Rock 'N' Roll (1987)
No Sleep At All (1990)
1916 (1991)
March Or Die (1992)
Bastards (1993)
Sacrifice (1995)
Overnight Sensation (1996)
Snake Bite Love (1998)
Everything Louder Than Everyone Else (1999)
We Are Motörhead (2000)
Best Of Motörhead (2000)
Hammered (2002)
Inferno (2004)

Genre: Traditional Metal

Origin UK

Added: January 17th 2005
Reviewer: Peter Fundeis
Artist website:
Hits: 835
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]