November's News Nuggets - Finale
Date: Saturday, December 17 @ 18:10:00 UTC
Topic: Album Release News

So... we're finally through all the collected news received in November, and this rounds up some of the smaller items we've received.

Jon Oliva's Pain, the band led by Savatage mastermind Jon Oliva, is currently working on material for its fifth album for a 2012 release. Commented Jon Oliva's Pain drummer Christopher Kinder: "We received a bunch of emails asking about the demo phase of each record and how the songs are put together. We hope this shines an interesting light on the process...

"Jon and I record each and every idea whether it is a riff or entire parts of songs. We record as many instruments as possible. Guitars, bass, strings, and finger drums on the keyboard. Then I make a mix of those ideas and CDs are created.

"So far we have dozens of CDs to review and we will begin seaming some of those ideas together as working templates. From there he/I take them home and then we get together again and add or subtract from those ideas... and on and on.

"Jon plays all the instruments on the demos.

"We rarely, if ever, rehearse live to put these songs together. Everything can be done quickly in Pro Tools and then for further review.

"To address the band player situation... As for the 'band,' we have made no decisions on anything at this point. The first objective right now is the songs. So we will continue the process as we have done since Maniacal Renderings, which is basically Jon's ideas and me crafting them into working songs and then we will worry about the rest of the details. Everything and everyone else involved with work itself out in the very near future."

Jon Oliva's Pain guitarist Matt Laporte passed away at his home in Florida on April 20. A memorial concert was held on July 23 in St. Petersburg, Florida. [Source:]


D Project, whose most recent CD is this year's Big Face, have posted a new video at their YouTube site. You can watch the video here. [Source: Ozeta Productions]


Formerly Italy, currently U.S., based band Ephel Duath, known as a modern mixture of avant-garde metal and progressive rock with jazz-fusion and hardcore punk elements, has inked a worldwide deal with Agonia Records for the release of an EP and two full-length albums.

Under the leading role of talented guitarist and songwriter Davide Tiso, the machine of Ephel Duath is ready to send out a new musical impulse, with the artistic contribution of a new line-up of well-known special session musicians, soon to be announced.

Due in the spring, Ephel Duath's new EP will be recorded in January 2012 at Sharkbyte Studios (Machine Head, Exodus, High On Fire) in Oakland, California. Erik Rutan will handle the mixing duties at his Mana Recording Studio (Cannibal Corpse, Hate Eternal, Goatwhore, Agnostic Front) in St. Petersburg, Florida. Alan Douches will master the material at West West Side Music (Death, Swans, Mastodon, Converge, Baroness, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Clutch) in New Windsor, New York.

[Source: Blabbermouth, Agonia Records]


House Of Shakira, one of Sweden's longest running and most respected melodic hard rock bands are back with a revitalised line-up which sees Andreas Novak (solo/ex-Mind’s Eye) joining on lead vocals, a potent new set of songs and a bright future as their new opus HoS will testify on 27th January 2012, released via Lion Music.

The full track listing is now confirmed as:

01. Brick Wall Falling
02. Changes In Mind
03. Carry My Load
04. Zodiac Maniac
05. Fractions Of Love
06. Midnight Hunger
07. Endless Night
08. All Aboard!
09. What Goes Around...
10. I’ll Be Gone
11. Voice In The Void
12. Lost In Transition
13. Out Of My Head

In addition a video teaser of a selection of new tracks can be viewed here.

MySpace | Facebook | YouTube [Source: Lion Music]


In other Lion Music news: Venturia founder/guitarist and solo artist Charly Sahona was selected as a finalist and appeared live on December 4 at Guitar Idol III, the world’s biggest and best guitar competition. Charly’s solo album Naked Thoughts From A Silent Chaos (Lion Music) was released in 2010 and he is currently finishing up the production of the third Venturia album (title tbc) set for release in 2012 ... ... Book Of Reflections musical mastermind Lars Eric Mattsson has checked in with the follow update: “Things are going well with the new Book Of Reflections album. We are now in the final stages of recording with only the vocals remaining and I am today proud to announce that the phenomenal singer Carsten ‘Lizard’ Schulz (Evidence One, ex-Domain) has joined the team." The new album sees an ever evolving flow in the projects style into progressive neo-classical waters and another vocalist announcement is expected shortly. Book Of Reflections 3 is set for release later in 2012.[Source: Lion Music]

This article comes from

The URL for this story is: